Is there a Internet Explorer for Snow Leopard?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Imola Ghost, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I need it for some internet banking and for setup of my router? For some reason Linksys doesn't support Safari on it's setup of the router. If so, could you point me to the download? I'm new to macs and don't know what I need.
     
  2. svkrzn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
  3. Forsaken macrumors regular

    Forsaken

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #3
    Internet Explorer for Mac was removed from Mac OS X starting with Tiger.

    Try Firefox, because it's actually good.
     
  4. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #4
    If your bank online software only works with IE, it's time to switch banks. Any business that is still stuck with IE only online software needs to be dumped ASAP; they're completely unwilling to update what they offer you so it's probably antiquated software. AND, IE is a complete fail for security.

    Welcome to Macs though :) Not sure why Linksys can't talk with Safari, that doesn't make any sense.
     
  5. Qin Zhi macrumors newbie

    Qin Zhi

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    中国北京
    #5
  6. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #6
    You can also report Safari as another browser for these sites simply. In Safari Preferences>Advanced, check the "Show Develop menu in menu bar" box. You may need to restart Safari after this (I can't recall). Now, along the menu bar, select Develop>User Agent>Browser of choice. The browser will reload the page reporting itself as that browser type and version. It may not resolve display issues (Peoplesoft is notorious for this), but it will pass any site browser checks for what's supported.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #7
    Um, wow. That's cool. Never checked that out. It still renders the page out in Webkit, right? Won't change the render engine up at all? So this wouldn't work for cross-browser checking....
     
  8. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #8
    Rendering isn't altered, although some sites may provide some layout differences depending on the specific page elements. The biggest boon to the average user is presenting as a "supported" browser on sites written to a particular browser for "security" reasons, which is either usually IE or Firefox.

    Ironically, the only version of IE that begins to provide reasonable coverage in the security area is 8.0, which is still not supported by a multitude of web-served enterprise apps.
     
  9. EndlessMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #9
    I also have a Linksys router and I don't remember any trouble with Safari. I do use Firefox as my main browser though and know that it definitely has no issues with logging into my router. If you can't get your router to work then it's probably a different issue besides what browser you are using.

    Also I've noticed that Safari does have some issue with some websites so try Firefox for those websites too. A lot of websites these days are smart enough to make their sites work on Firefox because it means that their site will work on Mac, Windows, and it should even work on Linux. There are a few websites that still stubbornly program for IE only. You can try contacting those sites to change their ways or try JNB's method mentioned above.
     
  10. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #10
    I was actually on the phone with Linksys tech support a few weeks ago and they told me I could log into my router but I could not make any changes. I confirmed this by changing the time zone and when I hit save it said, could not find web page.

    So you can log in but I can't make changes to the router with safari.
     
  11. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #11
    If all else fails, can't you just console (telnet) into the thing? Or has that basic functionality been crippled in all these new-fangled consumer boxes? :p
     
  12. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #12
    Have you tried firefox?
    I had a problem just like you described, with a router.
    Safari could log in, and make changes, just not save. With firefox, I was able to save my changes. If both Firefox and Safari wont work. You can try Opera or Chrome, even give caminio a try. One of these are bound to work.
     
  13. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    Just to be clear. There is no known problem between Safari and any Linksys router. This Mac user owns three Linksys routers. No problems. Linksys is the most popular router among US users. Safari is the most popular browser on the Mac. If there were a problem between Linksys and Safari, then you would have heard about it years ago.
     
  14. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    It actually worked for me in a web page that doesn't play nice with Safari.
     
  15. Mike Macintosh macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #15
    IE is not really supported on OSX anymore ending with Tiger, try Firefox like many others have suggested it should work fine.
     
  16. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #16
    Sadly, my work email works best with IE. Otherwise, it defaults to a light version.
     
  17. betaboy78 macrumors regular

    betaboy78

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #17
    I need IE to log into my CRM for work (it needs ActiveX controls), and can't use Safari or Firefox for it.

    I use CrossOver and run IE 6 with no issues.

    http://www.codeweavers.com/products/cxmac/

    I like CrossOver better than having to use VMWare or Parallels for just IE.

    Hope this helps.
     
  18. badgerman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #18
    Me too.

    Any other free options for ie 6 or above for outlook web access.
     
  19. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #19
    For those of you that have trouble with specific email services, just enable the "Develop" menu and trick the email service into thinking you're using Internet Explorer.

    Go to Safari > Preferences > Advanced > (check this option) Show Develop menu in menu bar

    Now you will see an extra menu in Safari's menu bar.

    Go to Develop > User agent > Internet Explorer x.0

    This works for banking services and other web sites that "require" you to use Internet Explorer. You don't really need it... just tricking the server will work.
     
  20. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #20
    Use Safari with the developer mode set for IE or use Firefox. Also, your bank only supporting IE is a bad move. Get a different bank.
     
  21. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #21
    When people talk about their work email going to a light version if not on IE, they are talking about Outlook Web Access (OWA) which is written by Microsoft and part of the Exchange server install. I'm pretty sure it uses ActiveX and still won't work if you try to trick it from Safari. Of course, if your work has an Exchange server you don't have to access it through OWA, you can use Mail.app which works fine with Exchange under Snow Leopard, or use Entourage. I have not found a way to create new Exchange mail folders on Mail.app, but that works fine in the light version of OWA.
     
  22. nadyne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA USA
    #22
    Just for clarity ...

    If you're using Exchange 2003 or earlier, you can only use Entourage 2008 or earlier to connect to it. In Safari/Firefox, you'll get the light version of Outlook Web Access (OWA). (You might be able to connect Apple Mail to it, but only if your server has IMAP enabled; check with your Exchange admin.)

    If you're using Exchange 2007, you can use any version of Entourage (and I highly recommend trying out Entourage for Web Services, it's a free update to Entourage 2008 specifically for Exchange 2007), the upcoming Outlook:Mac or Apple Mail. Your server needs to be on SP1 RU4. In Safari/Firefox, you'll get the light version of OWA.

    If your company is on the cutting edge and you're using Exchange 2010, you can only use Entourage 2008, Entourage for Web Access, the upcoming Outlook:Mac, or Apple Mail. Entourage 2004 or earlier will not work on Exchange 2010. In Safari/Firefox, you get the full version of OWA, which is quite nice to be able to use.

    Regards,
    Nadyne.
     

Share This Page