Is there absoluetly ANY way to bypass unsigned Apple software to get iOS 6 back?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by 325E, Sep 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 325E macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #1
    I hate iOS 7 so much, I really don't like how it looks, personally I think it looks tacky.

    I really did prefer iOS 6 as it felt a lot more solid and well built, and looked better in my opinion. I was too late and didn't get a chance to downgrade before it became unsigned, is there absolutely ANY and I mean ANY way to bypass this or get iOS 6 back.

    I'll go to any lengths to get iOS 6 back.
     
  2. Spacial macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #2
    Recent reports say we're screwed.

    Sorry, forgot to grab one of a few links to articles verifying this.
     
  3. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #3
    I would think at this point your best shot is to sell your iPhone and purchase another that hasn't been updated.
    Kind of a hassle, but that way you end up with the firmware of your choosing.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    There is no way to get iOS 6 or any other unsigned firmware onto your device.
     
  5. 325E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #5
    Sounds like something that's really daunting to do, but I might have no other choice. I've got a 4S so I might sell my 4S and get an iOS 6.1.3 iPhone 5 while I can. I'd have to sell it using Gumtree or something as well, considering eBay fees are £££.

    Extremely annoying and a dumb move by Apple if you ask me. I don't want iOS 7, it's crap.
     
  6. Taustin Powers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    #6
    This is annoying the crap out of me. I just updated and some apps I need for work are not working properly on iOS7. Now since I can't go back, the thing is useless for the time being, until either the apps get fixed or I find and configure other replacement apps. :mad:
     
  7. 325E thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #7
    I agree it's VERY annoying for users that hate iOS 7 or find it extremely unreliable.
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    The answer for a question I never asked. From Apple's point of view, as well as many others, SHSH blob signing is a very intelligent way of going about this.
     
  9. LegendKillerUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #9
    So even if you have your shsh blob from 6.1.4 there's no way back? Although if I had to choose, I'd rather get 6.1.3 back on the iPad mini. Again, I have my blob for that too.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Correct. SHSH blobs are only useful for A4 or older devices.
     
  11. kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #11
    But you still can do downgrade. All what you need it is:
    - download 6.1.x firmware image for your iPhone/iPad
    - put your phone/tablet in DFU mode
    - in iTunes click on restore button with shift and restore using downloaded firmware image.

    After restore firmware you need to restore your applications/settings from last backup and that is all.
    Indexes of firmware you can find on:

    http://www.iphonehacks.com/download-ipad-ios-firmware/
    http://idevicenews.nl/downloads/ios-firmware/

    Both pages points on official Apple site http://appldnld.apple.com/

    PS. I've done my downgrade on iPhone and iPad two days ago :)
     
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #12
    SHSH blobs are required and they only work for the iPhone 4. Two days ago, Apple was still signing iOS 6.1.3/.4 and was allowing downgrades. They are no longer signing it and thus, you are not able to downgrade.
     
  13. kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #13
    Please try first and after this comment.
    I've done my downgrade on iPhone 5 and iPad 2 gsm and I've done it downloading firmware from Apple site and using Apple software and nothing more
    As long as you will have proper firmware image downgrade will be ALWAYS possible.
     
  14. 12vElectronics macrumors 68040

    12vElectronics

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #14
    I'd love to be able to get ios6 on my iPad mini. Glad I never updated my iPhone 5.
     
  15. wepiii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #15
    You are incorrect. Sorry.
     
  16. kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #16
    Sorry could you please explain?
    Do you want to say that it is only illusion that I made downgrade?
    If yes it must be very realistic illusion.

    My friend just finished downgrade on his iPhone 5 and iPad 3 as well without any problems.
     
  17. Technetium37 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #17
    Did your friend do it today? Or he did it two days ago, when you did? Because I know that it was possible two days ago, but now it wouldn't work anymore.
     
  18. kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #18
    Yes he did this today about 20 min ago downloading just before downgrade firmware from Apple site.
    Any other questions?
     
  19. Technetium37 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #19
    http://idevicenews.nl/downloads/ios-firmware/

    Is this where he downloaded it from? If not, can you give me the link?
     
  20. kloczek, Sep 23, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013

    kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #20
    YES, YES .. how many times I must repeat this before you will start just for test download some *ipws file?

    Page like above contains only index of files on Apple site. If you will click on any *ipsw file it will start downloading from http://appldnld.apple.com/:

    $ date; wget http://appldnld.apple.com/iOS6.1/091-3423.20130502.Tr3Lz/iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw; md5sum iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw
    Mon Sep 23 13:00:53 BST 2013
    --2013-09-23 13:00:53-- http://appldnld.apple.com/iOS6.1/091-3423.20130502.Tr3Lz/iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw
    Resolving appldnld.apple.com... 195.245.125.179, 195.245.125.137, 195.245.125.170
    Connecting to appldnld.apple.com|195.245.125.179|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 1037923480 (990M) [application/octet-stream]
    Saving to: “iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw”

    100%[=====================================================================================================================================>] 1,037,923,480 24.4M/s in 40s

    2013-09-23 13:01:33 (24.7 MB/s) - “iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw” saved [1037923480/1037923480]
    e4e8c5e724bd851bf14e018fc40f2d59 iPhone5,2_6.1.4_10B350_Restore.ipsw

    You can download any historic firmware. You must only know full URL. As far as I know if you have developers account you can access to page with index of all *ipws files but download of any files as you see still is possible without any authentication or so.

    Questions?
     
  21. Technetium37 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    #21
    Haha, I'm just afraid I'll do it and it'll ruin my phone. I've never done anything like this on my iPhone... Just learned how to put it in DFU mode on YouTube... Will it ruin my phone if it doesn't work?
     
  22. moargolems macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Location:
    Finland
    #22
    No, he didn't.
     
  23. kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #23
    He didn't what? go to the Mars today??? A .. yes that is true :cool:
     
  24. wepiii macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #24
    Sure, you can download the firmware but you aren't going to be able to install it...
     
  25. kloczek, Sep 23, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2013

    kloczek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    #25
    Sorry please ask me first what I've did and after this feel free use this in comment :D

    Or second version: could you please be more specific why it is not possible to do something what few hours ago was done with firmware file with md5 checksum listed in my previous comment?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page