Is there any big difference between 15" and 17" beside screen size?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by thornton93, Jan 19, 2009.

1. thornton93 macrumors newbie

FYI im a newb with grammer and Macs.

Alright, im looking at the MBP 15" 2.53ghz and the 17" 2.66ghz.

Im a current high school student so I need a MBP that will fit those needs.
    I am going to be going into the automotive field for my career. I play WoW and I like to have all settings on high.

So my question really is, is there really any difference b/t the 2 MBP im choosing from?

Thanks for your time:)

2. tecknical macrumors regular

umm, if you go to school you'll want the 15 in. trust me on that. lugging around this 17" beast is a big pain in the ass. MAJOR pain in the ass. also, the 15" should run WoW on high settings with no hiccups.

3. liquidtrend macrumors 6502

liquidtrend

right now im pretty sure the new 17" models have an option for the highest end processor for the macbook pro line.

as well as a matte screen option.

4. thornton93 thread starter macrumors newbie

The size doesnt bother me at all. The MBP im going to get is going to be replacing my desktop. So its just going to be sitting on my computer desk most of the time.

5. WPB2 macrumors 6502a

WPB2

The biggest diff is the 8 hour battery line in the 17" Pro. The 15" is only capable of 5 hours. Thats the big difference for me.

6. applgeek macrumors member

Not really. WoW will prob be more pixelated because apple put a midrange graphics card in the pro. The price is higher, and there is a bigger battery. It is heavier too.

Just buy a 15 and a 17' PC. That would be about the same price.

7. drichards macrumors 6502a

drichards

The new 17in MBP is a good upgrade now from the 15in model. You can play WoW on anything. I'm sure my ex is destroying her family and social life with it on a black Macbook right now.

When you say you're going into the automotive field, what do you mean?

8. Niiro13 macrumors 68000