Is there anyone I can send my Mac to, to change the CPU?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by SRLMJ23, Jun 5, 2014.

  1. SRLMJ23 macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    I have read that certain individuals with soldering skills can change the CPU or even RAM. Though I have no confirmation this is true.

    If it is, I would love to put the Intel Core 2 Duo S9600 in my MBA. It runs at 2.53ghz, and is the same exact socket as my current CPU.

    The MBA I am talking about is my Late 2010 MBA, not my newer 2013 MBA.

    I really love my 2010 MBA, and God, if I could get more RAM in it, I would not have needed a new MBA.

    I am looking for honest answers only. I am willing to pay good money for this to happen if this can be done as the CPU is cheap as can be.

    Please help! Thank you everyone.
     
  2. maflynn, Jun 5, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2014

    maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Not really, there are no services that offer CPU replacement. Remember its not just the CPU you'll need to replace. If you go up a generation or different cpu, you'll need to replace other components and the circuitry may be a little different as well.

    If you need more performance your only viable and feasible option is to buy a new laptop.
     
  3. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #3
    Agreed with Mike.

    Even if you could find someone to do it and put all the right parts in it, it's no guarantee and in the end, it would probably be more trouble than it's worth.

    Better off buying a new one if you need increased CPU power.
     
  4. SRLMJ23 thread starter macrumors 65816

    SRLMJ23

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    Thank you gentlemen, I was reading some (I guess I can call it stupid now) saying you can send it away to professionals that can change the CPU/RAM.

    I do have the 2013 MBA, but my Late 2010 MBA was my first, so there is a little bit of nostalgia there. PLUS, it runs really really well! I guess the only thing I can do is upgrade the SSD to a high capacity and some outlets claim their SSD's are much faster than stock Apple SSD's. I have no clue if that is true or not. I would imagine that some are somewhat faster, but who knows.

    If anything knows anything about that, please let me know. I have been looking at OWC SSD's. Should I look else wear?

    Thank you guys!
     
  5. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #5
    OWC has good SSD's from what I hear. I use the Samsung SSD's myself and have had great luck.

    I've used the 830, 840 and the 840 EVO and all have been great.
     
  6. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #6
    Easiest way to upgrade is through eBay - sell your Mac, buy a new one, possibly refurbished.

    With the MBA, the problem is not processor speed, but the heat that the processor produces. When you look at Apple's website, it says "1.4 GHz, Turbo Boost to 2.7GHz". That means your processor will run at 2.7 GHz until it gets too hot, and then it goes down up to 1.4 GHz. That 2.53 GHz processor would either slow down to 1.4 GHz as well, or if it doesn't then it would likely melt your computer.
     
  7. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #7
    There is (finally!) a second replacement SSD vendor. Transcend JetDrive. 480GB upgrade kits are on sale at Amazon for $349, according to an email I received yesterday. Smaller upgrade sizes are available too. These kits include tools and a USB case for your old SSD.

    Disclaimer: I have no involvement with Transcend or Amazon, just looking at possible SSD upgrades like you. :)
     
  8. creepynut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    #8
    According to their website, they still don't support the 2013 MBA. One of my biggest regrets is picking up mine with 128GB. I had to decide between 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD. Should've waited a bit longer to get both.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    There are any number of posts on this forum pointing out the fact the OWCs SSDs are overpriced, not of good quality, and don't fit well. I'm one to those posters.

    There's even a whole thread about it:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1459847&highlight=owc

    Lou

     
  10. PBG4 Dude macrumors 68020

    PBG4 Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #10
    No third party supports PCI-E SSDs yet. Totally feel your pain, I have 128GB SSD in my MBA and totally should've gotten a 256GB model.
     
  11. Boyd01 macrumors 68040

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #11
    You couldn't beat it if they made a version for the 2013 or 2014 MBA, but they don't. :)
     
  12. SmOgER macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #12
    You totally misunderstand the turbo boost concept.

    The whole idea of turbo boost in MacBooks is to optimize the applications that can't utilize all CPU cores yet have high priority.

    For example, let's say we have 4 core CPU and video rendering software that can utilize only 2 CPU cores. If it fully utilizes those 2 cores, turbo boost kicks in to increase the frequency and give the software almost all available (depending TB clocks) CPU resources (despite the fact that in theory it's only utilizing 2 of 4 cores). Now overall CPU computing power won't substantially increase over it's stock values, as turbo boost will try obtain the overall TDP at preset limits. That means if TDP is let's say is 100W (25W per core), turbo boost increases the frequency to give 2 cores 40W each, there is only 20W left for 2 remaining cores (10W each), therefore overall CPU potential will not increase*, only performance per core ratio will change.

    * On certain chips manufacturer manages to archieve the higher than specified frequency on the stock TDP, so CPU potential actually can increase a notch. But this varies per chip and differences usually are pretty small.
     

Share This Page