Is there anything I can do now to prepare to install Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by wolfpackfan, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. wolfpackfan macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Cary, NC
    #1
    I will be installing Lion just as soon as it is released. I now how SL installed. Is there anything I should be doing now to "cleanup" SL to prepare to install Lion. For example, I have Parallels installed but I don't use it and probably will never use it, would it be better if I went ahead and uninstalled it? I also have Quicken 2007 installed, but don't use it either. So I guess in general I will remove all the software I'm not using. Anything else I should be doing?
     
  2. mnsportsgeek macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    #2
    Just do a clean install of Lion. That's what I'll be doing.
     
  3. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
  4. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #4
    Clean installs are generally unnecessary. Only worth it if you've accumulated a lot of old preferences and support files you want to purge. OP, just upgrade to 10.6.8 if you haven't already and you'll be set. Make sure you have a TM backup or clone in case anything goes wrong. Lion is a bit more RAM-hungry so you might want to consider getting some more. 2 GB is now the minimum; 4 GB is ideal.
     
  5. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    I never thought about this but if you downloaded the installer from the app store, you would have to upgrade install and then clean install from the recovery partition???

    Anyways, to clean install and skip that step; Download Lion installer, open package contents of the installer, you will find a DMG in one of the folders.

    Restore to a USB using disk utility or burn to a disk.

    Boot from it.
    (Hold C, or option)

    Clean install.
    (After using disk utility to wipe the HDD)
     
  6. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #6
    Yep you can do that but you don't have to.
     

Share This Page