Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jlors

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 8, 2020
I'm looking at buying a used 10.5" 64GB iPad Pro (wifi only) w/ Apple Pencil & Case that's in like new condition for $400. The bundle comes with original box + wrappings and everything. It is a local buyer and I'm not really worried about them ripping me off - looked through their profile and they are a professional photog in town that just doesn't use the item.

Does that seem like a good deal? I want a IPP and don't super want to spend over $450 and feel like this may be my best bet besides taking a risk on an 11" on eBay (and that's if I'm lucky and can find a cheap one)...

Only worried about how quickly it may get outdated or lose value, and while I'd prefer the uniform bevels of the newer gens I think I can live with bigger bevels (plus I do like the headphone jack and touch ID).

I work as a graphic designer and since Illustrator is now supported on iPad I figured I'd look into getting one. I am also in the beginning stages of learning to illustrate/draw. There isn't a super huge necessity for me to have the Pro versus other models... just that I figured if I could acquire an IPP at a reasonable deal I might as well.. thoughts?

Last edited:

Chevyguy2021

macrumors regular
Jun 18, 2017
I would spend another $100 and get the 11 pro 2018 or try to get it for like $350. I just sold my 11 pro 64gb 2018 on swappa for $510.
The "bright spot on the screen" was an issue I had on my 10.5 iPad Pro. It was super annoying so I traded it in to apple back in 2018 and got the iPad Pro 11. It was an amazing device. I would inspect the screen to see If it has the bright spot issue. I would personally not buy a 10.5 due to the screen issue that has happen to many people.

AutomaticApple

Suspended
Nov 28, 2018
Massachusetts