Is / was there ever a PPC version of MacsFan Control?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Hughmac, May 7, 2019.

  1. Hughmac macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #1
    As the title says, has there ever been a PPC version of MacsFanControl, or am I stuck with G4FanControl?

    Anything else similar available?

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #2
    You're stuck with the non-working G4FanControl.

    The internet wayback machine says version 1.0 of Macs Fan Control was Intel (10.6) only.
     
  3. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #3
    Oh well, G4FanControl does sort of work; it just doesn't hold it's values between reboots.
    Thanks for the answer.

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
    No problem. I had a vested interest in checking that. No version of G4FanControl I have used has ever worked on my PowerBook. It doesn't hold during reboots for you, but doesn't work at ALL for me. I'd be willing to suffer that irritation (I rarely reboot) if it worked.

    Oh well.
     
  5. Hughmac, May 8, 2019
    Last edited: May 8, 2019

    Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #6
    My PowerBook a1106 arrives today, so we'll see if G4FanControl works later on ;)
    It was all or nothing on the iBook with no ramping up of fan speeds, which is why I was after an old version of MacsFanControl.

    I saw this last night while I was searching around, and I've downloaded it ready to try out :), although I believe it does the same as iStat Menus?

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  6. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #7
    Well I have my PowerBook (a1106 15"), just restoring my iBook system from firewire backup, but to confirm G4FanControl 0.61 is working fine on it. In fact there's a little more fine tuning in the fan speeds and they ramp up nicely rather than all or nothing.

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  7. bobesch macrumors 65816

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #8
    It only doesn't work on some sorts of G4 processors ... #9
    ... that maybe don't need it, since they aren't such steam-machines like the late 12" PowerBook.
     
  8. bobesch, May 8, 2019
    Last edited: May 8, 2019

    bobesch macrumors 65816

    bobesch

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Kiel, Germany
    #9
    Yep, the a1106 should do fine with G4FanControl. v0.61 is the same version I'm running on my late PowerBooks and settings do survive rebooting. G4FC is running in the background, all thresholds set to 70° C and I can't remember ever noticing it's or fan's existance,
    where on the 12" 1,5GHz PowerBook G4FC is THE mission critical application,
    cause after installing an SSD drive's temperatur went up beyond the threshold-preset for the harddrive and the fans went running without a pause.
    Now, with thresholds at 68° the 12"PB is at a steady-state without fans.
    Mission complete: silence! Only the keyboard's "click-click-click" ...

    G4FanControl.png
     
  9. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #10
    Yup, SSD in a couple of days, once I know everything else is working properly.

    Waiting on an extra 1GB RAM to make it up to 2, but working fine on the 1.5GB currently installed.

    On an aside, I have just received this - https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Tera-PCM...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649 - PCMCIA SD card reader, and although they claim only up to 32GB cards it recognises my 512GB SD :)
    I wonder if it's bootable?

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  10. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #11
    Had to do an emergency hard drive transplant today as the 80GB the PB came with started clunking and giving lots of beachballs, so the SSD is now in and working fine.
    Also my 1GB stick turned up so I'm running with 2GB now.
    Luxury :)

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  11. B S Magnet macrumors 6502

    B S Magnet

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Location:
    don’t read my status message
    #12
    Oh sweet! That’s SDXC-level compliance!
     
  12. swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #13
    Ooohh! Do tell us if you try booting from it!
     
  13. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #14
    Working on trying that now ;)

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  14. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #15
    And the answer is... no, I can't boot from an SD card :(

    I formatted a 16GB Sandisk Class 10 card to APM/HFS, and restored a pre-made complete Tiger system from Carbon Copy Cloner to it.
    Upon rebooting it didn't show up in the boot menu when the Option key was pressed.
    Next I tried Startup Disk in System Prefs, and although it showed up as boot-able the PowerBook booted straight back into Leopard.
    I reckon the system won't see the SD card until it is fully up and running, so not allowing booting from it.

    Never mind, I've had fun playing around ;)

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  15. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #16
    Will the installer see it as a valid disk to install to?
     
  16. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #17
    Once upon a time I had a Windows phone which allowed me to use a MicroSD card inside. The phone was USB.

    I formatted the SD card as APM at one point and cloned a bare bones install using Carbon Copy Cloner. CCC blessed the SD card and using Open Firmware I booted from it. All while it was still inside the WinMo phone.

    Took over an hour to boot. I went outside to do yard work and came back to the Welcome screen.

    USB 1.1.
     
  17. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #18
    Good point. I'll try that tomorrow as it's getting late here.

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  18. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #19
    OK, I booted to my Tiger DVD and it allowed me to select the SD card as installation destination.
    However, after the install was completed it still won't boot to the SD card.

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  19. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #20
    What if you tried Open Firmware? If that works, you could set it as the default boot device.
     
  20. Hughmac thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #21
    I'm not sure of the commands needed to force a boot in OF, and I'm not sure the system can see it until OS X has booted ;)

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  21. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #22


    See if you get anywhere watching this. Experiment around if the initial attempt doesn't work.

    Remember to replace 'yaboot' with 'tbxi'.
     
  22. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #23
    I suspect that your phone may have been part of the bottleneck on that.

    Way back when I got my first TiBook(867mhz) I was waiting on a replacement HDD cable and decided to try booting over USB just to check it out.

    I pulled the Leo HDD out of the Quicksilver I was using at the time and hooked it up via a USB bridge. It took probably 10 minutes to get to the desktop, and was not really usable, but at least it did boot and confirm to me that the computer worked.

    In retrospect...I should have put the Quicksilver in TDM and booted that way. I was fairly new to PPC Macs at the time...
     
  23. skinniezinho macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal

Share This Page

23 May 7, 2019