Is your company allowing Exchange access?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by NewtypeCJ, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. NewtypeCJ macrumors 6502

    NewtypeCJ

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #1
    OK, now that we have this great phone that can access Exchange...there's the matter of companies allowing it to.

    Where I work, IT is not supporting the iPhone and do not allow company email to be accessed on personal devices. (Yet, I can access Exchange webmail via Safari or on any computer that is not owned by the company.) Wondered if anyone else is sharing my displeasure with that. :'(
     
  2. AFPoster macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    I am in the military - Air Force and they are not allowing this either. Unless you are a Squadron Commander, Wing Commander or General, then you might be lucky enough to get it enabled for you (and by might be I mean you will). Other than that us peons dont get ****, or shall I say anything.
     
  3. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #3
    I'm one of the IT guys at my place, so yes it's working for me ;)
     
  4. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    Not sure why anyone want to "force" the company to allow you to work outside of work...
     
  5. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #5
    Maybe this'll make you feel better. I work for AT&T as a Linux admin. I have no access to the windows servers that run our Exchange software, and I have heard no word from them whatsoever as to if we can get direct exchange access. My guess is no.

    So, like I said, hope it makes you feel better. I work for AT&T ITO, and don't even get this feature.
     
  6. mpuck972 macrumors 6502

    mpuck972

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #6
    I believe that since you have outlook web access than you can set you phone up yourself. The ability to access Outlook Web means your profile has the Mobile User option turned on. All you need is the mail address to plug in. Normally that address is: Mail.<yourdomain>.com (your domain would be your company name, and you leave out the symbols). After that all you need is your credientials which is your login and pass word.
     
  7. meglet macrumors member

    meglet

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #7
    Not necessarily. Where I work, you need a security certificate to access Exchange via ActiveSync. I believe there is a way to get the certificate even if your IT dept won't provide it, but I haven't bothered to look since we officially support WM phones (and soon the iPhone) so we install the certificate as part of the setup for the users that ask.
     
  8. evilyankeefan macrumors regular

    evilyankeefan

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    #8
    Seriously, I'm glad my company doesn't allow it.
     
  9. NewtypeCJ thread starter macrumors 6502

    NewtypeCJ

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Decatur, GA
    #9
    That does not appear to work.
     
  10. PoitNarf macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #10
    The same certificate used in Outlook Web Access can be used with the iPhone. Just open up OWA in IE and save the security certificate... that's all I did, works fine.
     
  11. mattpol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #11
    A big, resounding no. At my company (with over 80,000 employees), it's simple: Blackberry or nothing!
     
  12. ScottFitz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #12
    I just entered in the same address as I enter in for web-based Outlook and it all popped up. Fairly painless for me.

    My IT guy only supports Windows Mobile. I used my blackberry previously, now my iphone 3g. All is good.

    Pay close attention to how you type in your user name when you use the webbased outlook. Some companies have a particular format. Follow it exactly.
     
  13. dauerhippo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #13
    Can you explain this a little further? How do you save the certificate, and then how would you get it onto the iphone?

    My school allows OWA, and supports WM phones, but not iPhones, and I can't get exchange to verify on the iphone. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  14. Cyclone Chris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #14
    Nope...

    I need a CAC Card reader to login my OWA. I doubt apple makes CAC Card readers for the iphone...lol

    Gotta love new technology... who ever thought I would need my Military ID Card to log into a computer or OWA.
     
  15. spamdumpster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #15
    My firm allows OWA, but requires login using an RSASecurID token. They refuse to support anything but blackberries.
     
  16. mattpol macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #16
    I'd love an explanation, too! My company allows OWA (login is a username and static password, no RSA Token), but won't support my iPhone. Is this really a workable solution?
     
  17. islandtitan macrumors regular

    islandtitan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    USA/Daniel Island/ South Carolina
    #17
    Our company is actually going to begin replacing the current BB, as the accounts expire, with the iPhone. We have set-up an account with AT&T and they're beginning to get things going on our side.
     
  18. GNice macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #18
    Can't believe it, but my company is supporting it! With the 1st generation they were adamantly opposed supporting it. Glad they have changed their minds. It's working like a charm!
     
  19. ubersalad macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #19
    Uhh...perhaps that's because 1st generation iPhone doesn't support ActiveSync?
     
  20. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #20
    My company is supporting it and it's awesome!
     
  21. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #21
    Scott..

    Can you go into a little more detail on this? My company has a web based outlook.
     
  22. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #22
    First I tried using my server that my outlook has in account settings, and it did not work.

    Once you enter your web version (mail."your company name".com), then in the address bar you can see "server name.company name.com/exchweb. I used the server name in the Microsoft Exchange set up for server name and it works great.:)
     
  23. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #23
    Our notoriously anti-Mac, "if-it-isn't-a-Blackberry-don't even-think about-asking" company sent out an all-hands email a week or so ago announcing they will support ActiveSync on iPhones. Woo hoo!
     
  24. ksz macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #24
    Holy crap! Thank you for suggesting this. My company supports OWA and my first-generation iPhone with FW 2.0 is now working nicely with our corporate Exchange server. Have only read emails so far (haven't sent any yet).

    Edit: Email sending also works fine.

    Edit2: My colleagues with Windows Mobile PDAs tell me this is standard procedure for them.
     
  25. Andrmgic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #25
    Working fine for me, though the official company policy is no support for non-blackberry devices.

    iPhone 3G is working just fine w/ Exchange.. it gets e-mail before outlook does.
     

Share This Page