Is Your Menu Bar Translucent (Poll) - Trying to Find a Trend

Discussion in 'macOS' started by astrostu, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. astrostu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #1
    Trying to find a trend here because another thread isn't coming across one.

    Please post your system (processor, speed, RAM, graphics card(s) - can be found under /Applications/Utilities/System Profiler) and whether your menu bar is translucent or not.


    --== EDIT - RESULTS SO FAR ==--

    Looks like anthroid (post 39) has it for the most part (edited based on a post around 60): If you've got a G4 AND (an NVIDIA GeForce video card OR an ATI 5200 or earlier video card) you don't have transparency in the menu bar. Otherwise, you've got it, even if you have a G4 processor.

    At this point, I'm going to stop tracking them because I have to get ready for a trip to Hawaii. But it's nice that it seems like we have the trend!

    So (up through post 40) we have:

    PPC G4 (PB) | 1.0 GHz | 1.25 GB | GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 32MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC G4 (iBook) | 1.33 GHz | 1.25 GB | ??? | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC | 1.5 GHz | 1.25 GB | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC G4 (PB) | 1.5 GHZ | ?? | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC G4 (PB) | 1.5 GHz | 1.25 GB | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC | 1.5 GHz | 1.25 GB | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC G4 (PM) | 1.6 GHz | 1.5 GB | NVIDIA GeForce2 MX w/ 32 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
    PPC (Mini) | ??? | 512MB | Ati Radeon with 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY

    PPC G4 | 1.33 GHz | 1.5 GB | ATI Mobility Radeon 9550 w/ 32 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    PPC G4 (iBook) | 1.42 GHz | 1.5 GB | ATI Mobility Radeon 9550 | TRANSPARENT
    PPC G4 (PB) | 1.5 GHz | 1.5 GB RAM | ATI Radeon Mobility 9700 w/ 64 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    PPC G4 (PB) | 1.5 GHz | 2.0 GB | ATI w/ 64 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    MAC MINI | 1.66 GHz | 2GB | (Integrated) | TRANSPARENT
    PPC G5 | 1.9 GHz | 512 | ATI Radeon X600 Pro w/ 128 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    PPC G5 (iMac) | 2 GHz | 1.5 GB RAM | Radeon 9600 128 MB | TRANSPARENT

    Intel (MB) | ??? | 2GB RAM | Intel GMA 950 with 64 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 1.66 GHz | 1.0 GB | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core Duo (MB) | 1.83Ghz | 2GB RAM | GMA950 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core Duo | 2 GHz | 2 GB | GMA950 w/ 64 MB shared | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core 2 Duo (MB) | 2 GHz | 1 GB RAM | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core 2 Duo (MB) | 2 GHz | 1 GB RAM | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core Duo | 2 GHz | 2.0 GB | 128MB ATI X1600 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 2.0 GHz | 2 GB | ATI Radeon X1600 w/ 128 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 2 GHz | 2 GB | ATi Radeon X600 w/ 128 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core 2 Duo (iMac) | 2.16 GHz | 2 GB RAM | Radeon X1600 265 MB | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 2.16 GHz | 2 GB | GMA950 w/ 64 MB shared | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core Duo (MBP) | 2.16 GHz | 2 GB RAM | Radeon X1600 265 MB | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 2.16 GHz | 2.5 GB | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core Duo (MBP) | 2.16 GHz | 2 GB RAM | Radeon X1600 265 MB | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core 2 Duo (MBP) | 2.4 GHz | 2 GB | GeForce 8600M GT w/ 256 MB RAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel Core 2 Duo (iMac) | 2.4 GHz | ?? | Radeon HD2600 | TRANSPARENT
    Intel | 2.4 GHz | 2 GB | NVIDIA GeForce 8600M w/ 256 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel (MBP) | 2.4 GHz | 4 GB | Nvidia GeFore 8600M GT, 256 MB RAM | TRANSPARENT
    Intel (MP) | 2X2.66 GHz | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB | TRANSPARENT
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    PPC | 1.5 GHz | 1.25 GB | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
     
  3. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #3
    I'm waiting to vote in the poll...

    Meanwhile, SR MBP: I've noticed a hit or miss trend. A few pictures work with the Menu Bar, while a few others don't. It seems that the more predictable the picture's off-screen edge, the more likely it is it will play nice with the Menu Bar.
     
  4. sananda macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #4
    PPC G4| 1.33 GHz | 1.5 GB | ATI Mobility Radeon 9550 w/ 32 MB VRAM|TRANSPARENCY

    PPC G5| 1.9 GHz | 512 | ATI Radeon X600 Pro w/ 128 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENCY

    Erase & install for both.
     
  5. torpy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney + Los Angeles
    #5
    Intel | 2.4 GHz | 2 GB | NVIDIA GeForce 8600M w/ 256 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENCY
     
  6. vandlism macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #6
    Intel | 2.16 GHz | 2 GB | GMA950 w/ 64 MB shared | TRANSPARENCY
     
  7. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #7
    All the conflicting reports and then what you've said leads me to believe one of two things:

    1) A bug exists

    or

    2) This is some extremely bad coding
     
  8. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8
    Maybe people should also post whether they did an upgrade or a clean install. Lack of transparent menu bar may be a bug that can happen when you upgrade.
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    iMac G5 2 GHz | 1.5 GB RAM | Radeon 9600 128 MB | TRANSPARENT

    MacBook white Core 2 Duo 2 GHz | 1 GB RAM | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT

    MacBook black Core 2 Duo 2 GHz | 1 GB RAM | GMA 950 | TRANSPARENT

    MacBook Pro 17" Core Duo 2.16 GHz | 2 GB RAM | Radeon X1600 265 MB | TRANSPARENT

    Hope this helps :)

    EDIT: I know the first two with are with "Upgrade"
     
  10. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #10
    I've done an Upgrade and an Erase & Install and the result of both was no transparency for me.
     
  11. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Intel | 2.16 GHz | 2.5 GB | GMA 950 | Transparency

    Intel | 1.66 GHz | 1.0 GB | GMA 950 | Transparency

    Both "upgraded"
     
  12. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #12
    Well, mine was an upgrade, not clean install. However, if you want to see how big the diference is even for a predictable picture, look at this:
    [​IMG]
     
  13. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

    powerbook911

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    #13
    PB 12-inch PPC 1.5 GHZ G4 -NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 - No transparency

    iMac Core 2 Duo 2.4 GHZ - Radeon HD2600 - Transparent
     
  14. Wild-Bill macrumors 68030

    Wild-Bill

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    bleep
    #14
    PPC Powerbook 12"| 1.5 GHz | 1.25 GB | NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 w/ 64 MB VRAM | NO TRANSPARENCY
     
  15. thebassoonist macrumors 6502a

    thebassoonist

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    #15
    MBP 15" Intel Core 2 Duo | 2.4 GHz | 2 GB | GeForce 8600M GT w/ 256 MB RAM | TRANSPARENCY
     
  16. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Intel | 2 GHz Core Duo | 2 GB | GMA950 w/ 64 MB shared | TRANSPARENCY

    (Core Duo MacBook)
     
  17. jrennell macrumors newbie

    jrennell

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #17
    MacBook Pro

    Core Duo | 2.0 GHz | 2.0 GB | 128MB ATI X1600 | TRANSPARENCY | Archive+Install[Tiger]
     
  18. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #18
    If you're using dark backgrounds, then the menu bar will appear opaque. Its not really completely opaque, its just the dark background. For example, if you made a completely black background with the bright yellow strip down the center, the whole menu bar would appear opaque except around the yellow part.

    Oh, and...
    Intel | 2.4 GHz SR MBP, 15" | 4 GB | Nvidia GeFore 8600M GT, 256 MB RAM | TRANSPARENCY
     
  19. astrostu thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #19
    Yeah, this isn't the case - I did a clean install.
     
  20. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    i've found that the menubar transparency fails on any machine with a GeForce FX5200 including G5s, iMacs & powerbooks.

    odd that, as the 5200 supposedly supports Core Image....
     
  21. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #21
    MacBook Pro 15" Core Duo 2.16 GHz | 2 GB RAM | Radeon X1600 265 MB | TRANSPARENT

    Mac Pro 2X2.66 GHz | 4 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB | TRANSPARENT
     
  22. adamsen87 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #22
    Intel | 2 GHz | 2 GB | ATi Radeon X600 w/ 128 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENCY
     
  23. ivnj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
  24. duyvan82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #24
    Macbook Core Duo 1.83Ghz | 2GB RAM | GMA950 | TRANSPARENT
     
  25. Jalu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #25
    PowerBook G4 15" 1.5 GHz | 1.5 GB RAM | Ati Radeon Mobility 9700 with 64 MB VRAM | TRANSPARENT
     

Share This Page