itunes error 1013 when installing 4.2.1

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by twostep665, Nov 18, 2010.

  1. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Is your phone registered on a developer account?
     
  2. jacollins macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
  3. twostep665, Nov 18, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2010

    twostep665 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #4
    Not a developer and yes I have itunes 10.1. I've never had this error before and Ive gotten the previous GM releases just fine.


    actually, its itunes 10.1 beta from when 4.2 gm got released. could that be the issue?
     
  4. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #5
    er...yeah...probably. Update from the beta.
     
  5. ajarnfalang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    #6
    how 'bout this.

    How about, you wait a couple of weeks and install it when it's released?

    I promise you won't die.
     
  6. twostep665 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #7
    Updated from the beta and still got the same error. I'm now stuck in recovery mode and when I try to do the normal restore the itunes server times out downloading 4.1
     
  7. jasonforisrael macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #8
    worked fine here. don't really notice anything different bug or speed-wise, but there were few differences between 4.1 and 4.2 i really cared about anyway.

    prob needed the legit 10.1 which is available on apple's website.
     
  8. twostep665 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #9
    I got the full 10.1 but i still had the same error.
     
  9. DevilyWan88, Nov 19, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2010

    DevilyWan88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    #10
    Mine got the same error too..but after edited the host file, its solved the problem..
     
  10. Bluevoice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #11
    I also got the full iTunes 10.1 version and got the same error. I think this error is related to the update not being able to upgrade the baseband because it's practicly the same baseband version as in 4.2 (03.10.01). The only problem with this error is that the iPhone remains in DFU but you can easily take it out of DFU by using RecBoot. I now run 4.2.1 on my iPhone 4 without a problem :)
     
  11. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #12
    I don't think it's that - I updated fine from 4.1 -> 4.2 Betas -> 4.2 GM -> 4.2.1 GM (I do have a developer account though)
     
  12. RobT macrumors 6502a

    RobT

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #13
    Seems like it might be a problem with your host file. If you have used an app like Tiny Umbrella your host file could be modified and that's what's forcing the error.
     
  13. ubestbsteppin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    #14
    Yup, if you've used Tiny Umbrella or an app like it you'll get the error you describe. I assume your phone is displaying the 'connect to itunes" screen now? You could always use Tiny Umbrella to knock it out of that mode:)
     
  14. Bluevoice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    #15
    You are right. I had Saurik's server added to my hosts file. I removed it, updated again without the 1013 error.
     
  15. Vundu macrumors 65816

    Vundu

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    I always move my hosts files while I update and put it back again afterwards.
     
  16. supermac96 macrumors 6502a

    supermac96

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    #17
    this is a great idea! i might have gotten the ios4 beta (as it had so many changes and I couldn't wait for it) but this doesn't really have much.
     
  17. fishnchipsman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #18
    How do you edit the host files? What do you have to change to get them to work?
     
  18. Maziar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    #19
    Try recboot.I had the same error and it fixed it for me.
     
  19. martiansoldier macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #20
    I had a 10 days old week 40 iPhone 4 that came with iOS 4.1. I tried updating to iOS 4.2 and got the error 1013. Tried recovery mode a few times but it was in an infinite loop with error 1013. I called Apple support and the agent asked me to try rebooting the laptop and try different USB ports and such...all to no avail. Finally he gave me a case number and told me that my phone had a hardware problem and that I must get it replaced at the nearest apple store which was an hour away. When asked, I told him that I bought the phone from a local Radio Shack less than 2 weeks back, he asked me to take it back and have it replaced with a new one, which I ended up doing.
     
  20. shakeman0 macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #21
    I had the EXACT same issue and experience. They told me I would need to get a new phone at the nearest Apple Store. I managed to fix it by downloading iOS 4.2.1 on a different computer and updating my phone there. I think it was just a corrupt data file.
     
  21. martiansoldier macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #22
    Well, there is fix on the internet (modifying the HOSTS file), which I know would have fixed it. The manager at the Radio Shack store had no issues updating my old phone to 4.2 by connecting it to a display computer in the store, but since Apple asked me to get it replaced because of the "HARDWARE ISSUE", I was like "why the hell not?" and had it replaced anyway.

    Before I updated my new phone, I modified the HOSTS file and had my brother do the same on his computer before he updated his IP4.
     
  22. MartinEros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #23
    Add this to your host file
    17.112.176.11 gs.apple.com

    Chances are your DNS is not being flushed or cleared properly.

    if you enter gs.apple.com in your browser it should redirect to www.apple.com/404 not cydia or anything else.
     
  23. MartinEros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    #24
    Add this to your host file
    17.112.176.11 gs.apple.com

    Chances are your DNS is not being flushed or cleared properly.

    if you enter gs.apple.com in your browser it should redirect to www.apple.com/404 not cydia or anything else.
     
  24. rsuryase, Jan 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011

    rsuryase macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    #25
    17.112.176.11 gs.apple.com works for me, before it had a different ip address. My iphone 4 got bricked after I installed snes4iphone on a tethered jailbreak ios 4.2.1.

    Edit: looks like this happens on any apps on Cydia. I have a frozen/bricked iphone 4 everytime I install a Cydia app.
    Edit 2: I found out it's mobile substrate that's causing this?
     

Share This Page