I've got display 1 as default desktop, so why does display 2 think it's the boss?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by malch, May 10, 2011.

  1. malch, May 10, 2011
    Last edited: May 10, 2011

    malch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    Hi there,
    I've got three Dell displays, as some of you (who helped me connect them up, without the need for an extra video card... thank you so much) will know. One of my two 23" (1920x1080) Dell displays is my main "desktop" display with the Apple menu at the top, etc. It's where all my hard drives show up, and where I keep my dock, etc. It's the top left display (not that that matters).
    But Mac OS-type windows, like 'Are you sure you want to remove the items in the trash' and the like, still show up, instead, on my 27" Dell (2560x1440) display, to the right of this first display.
    I can move these windows back onto the smaller display, hoping that this is where they'll show up the next time, but these windows always default back to the larger display.

    Here's something else that's odd: when I play a 1920x1080 video on this 23" (1920x1080) display, the QT playback window is too large... I have to shrink it a bit to fit, even though the video says it's 1920x1080, which is also what the display is set at.

    Can anyone tell me what's going on?
    thanks,
    malch
     
  2. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #2
    I should add that, when I bring up Display Preferences, it's the top left 23" Dell that has the 'menu bar' at the top. So it is officially chosen to be my main desktop.
     
  3. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #3
    Switch the DVI ports and move the menu bar to the other monitor, voila.
     
  4. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #4
    thanks very much. Never would have occurred to me... which is the beauty of these forums.
    Much appreciated,
    malch
     
  5. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #5
    A quick post back to tell Wojtek that his suggestion worked perfectly.
    thanks so much!
    malch
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    Isn't nice when the answer is so easy you say to yourself is why didn't I think of that.
     
  7. malch thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #7
    Here's the horrible thing: I wouldn't have thought of that, ever.
    (still don't know why DP should rule over DVI, but if that's the way these ports like to do it, so be it)
    That's why I love these forums...
    malch
     
  8. hwojtek macrumors 6502a

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    A small rural village in western Poland
    #8
    You're welcome ;)
     

Share This Page