Jailbreak 2.2 error code 1600

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Enigmafan420, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    Okay, I have the new pwnage tool (2.2.1) and have made the custom IPW to preserve the baseband.

    Everytime I try to do the custom restore I get error code 1600-unknown error.

    Any suggestions? :confused:

    I have done this with every version since 2.0 and have not seen this message.
     
  2. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
  3. Geniusdog254 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    #3
    I was havin this problem as well. I was ready to beat my head and or iPhone into the wall in frustration, I was doing everything right, full DFU, pwned successfully previous versions in DFU. I eventually got the bright idea to try plain old restore mode just for kicks and whadda ya know, it worked! If you were pwnd before appearantly you don't need DFU just restore so try that and post results.
     
  4. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #4
    Everytime I get this error, I power my iPhone down, hold down the Home button, and then plug in the USB cable until the phone gives me the "Connect to iTunes" logo. Don't let go of the home button until you see that screen. At this point, I do my restore using my custom ipsw and all is good.

    So, try it out.
     
  5. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #5
    Damn I would never have thought of that, but it is restoring right now!

    THANKS! Advice worked perfectly... :D
     
  6. ElectricMan5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #6
    OMG dude it worked for me too!!! THANKS!
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Error 1600 or any derivation of that number like 1601, 1602... 160x is just an error that happened because of USB connection problems or because iTunes couldn't communicate well with the phone.

    To solve this, just use another USB in your computer. If that doesn't help, reboot your computer and try again.
     
  8. sakib88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #8

    can someone explain how to do this? i'm not too sure on how "plain old restore" works

    thanks
     
  9. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    There are three modes in which you can restore your iPhone. You should try each of them in order until one of them works, DFU last.

    1. Regular mode: Just plug your phone in, select restore.

    2. Recovery Mode: With phone off, press and hold the home button while you plug your phone in. Continue holding the home button until iTunes detects an iPhone in recovery mode. Restore as above.

    3. DFU Mode: With phone off and connected to a computer, press and hold down the Power button for 3 seconds; then, without releasing the power button, press and hold the Home button for 10 seconds; then, without releasing the home button, release the power button. Continue to hold the home button until iTunes detects an iPhone in recovery mode. Restore as above.
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Well it's too simple.

    1) Plug in phone
    2) Open iTunes
    3) Use the mouse to click the restore button.
     
  11. sakib88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #11
    when i do the restore from itunes, i keep getting the unknown error 1602

    i tried changing the usb ports, but that did not work,

    and trying the recovery mode and the dfu mode, the itunes never did detect the device. i kept getting to the screen where the usb is shown to be inserted towards the itunes sign.
     
  12. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #12
    If you had the USB plug and iTunes logo, you were not in DFU mode. When your phone is in DFU mode, the screen will be completely black. Follow the instructions here.
     
  13. sakib88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

Share This Page