General Jailbreak 4.1 to 6.0 (6.1.3) Upgrade

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MooPai, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. MooPai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #1
    I have a 3GS with new Bootrom from a US carrier which was Jailbroken (version 4.1) to work on Rogers in Canada. I've been trying to upgrade to 6.1.3 Jailbreak but with no success.

    I'm using Redsn0w_win_0.9.15b3 with iPhone2,1_6.0_10AA403 Restore for the upgrade. Everything starts well and jailbreak starts to load on the iPhone then gets to Transferring data something.... and it hangs there for about 5-10 minutes then the phone reboots back with 4.1. After I load Just Boot, I get the Jailbreak Apple logo for again 5-10 minutes then phone reboots with the same results. I've tried this on a PC and a Mac several times with no change.

    Any idea what might be happening here? Thanks :mad:
     
  2. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    You need SHSH blobs to upgrade. Open cydia and press TSS center, what blobs does it show you?
     
  3. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #3
    it's showing the following under TSS Center: Save 6.1.3 & Where is my "iOS 6.0-6.1.2"?
    What does that mean? Thanks

     
  4. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #4
    Please help anyone!!!!

    Please help anyone!!!!

     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    Can you show a screenshot? More than likely, you don't have any complete iOS 4, 5, and 6 SHSH blobs

    That means you cannot upgrade to anything other than iOS 7
     
  6. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #6
    Here's the image:



     

    Attached Files:

  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
  8. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #8
    Hi There,

    I followed the steps in the link that you directed me to but everything freezes at the following screen.


     

    Attached Files:

  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    You didn't follow instructions:

    it says if you have blobs skip step 2...
     
  10. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #10
    No I lost the service and it saying my sim card is not supported by my carrier. Any idea why?

     

    Attached Files:

  11. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  12. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #12
    I've used Redsn0w and Jailbreak it but it still does not recognize my carrier (Rogers) and says No Service!

    Any other ideas?

    The version that is showing now under about is 6.1.3 (10B329)

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

     
  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    Jailbreaking, unlocking, and activating (hacktivating) are all different

    What is your baseband version (modem firmware)? What's the first five numbers of your serial?

    We had thought it was carrier unlocked, and not software unlocked
     
  14. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #14
    The serial number:85009

    Not sure where to find the baseband info!
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    i believe that means it made in the 9th week of 2010 so it should be safe to be flashed to the ipad baseband and then downgraded

    the baseband info can be found under general -> about -> modem firmware
     
  16. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #16
    Modem Firmware is 06.15.00. Thanks

     
  17. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #17
    use redsn0w and click extras, then select ipsw

    choose the iOS 6.0 ipsw for your device

    then go back to the menu and click jailbreak, it'll load up the stuff

    and uncheck all the boxes except for "downgrade ipad baseband"

    once it's done, check settings -> about -> modem firmware and make sure it's 5.13.xx

    once there, open cydia and install ultrasn0w and your phone should be unlocked afterwards
     
  18. MooPai, Oct 25, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013

    MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #18
    It downgrade to 5.1.3.04 but Cydia would not load!

    I re-ran the Jailbreak and installed Cydia again with no change! i would not load.....

    O also noticed that Safari does not work, I cannot type a url, the keyboard would not even show!

    Any idea why? Thanks

     
  19. TriJetHero, Oct 25, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2013

    TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #19
    Jailbreak 4.1 to 6.0 (6.1.3) Upgrade

    You need to run it again to jailbreak, you only downgraded the BB.

    This time uncheck all except install Cydia
     
  20. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #20
    I believe 6.1.3 is a tethered jailbreak so you would need to go into extras -> select ipsw and choose the 6.0 version for your device

    And then click just boot. Now see if cydia and safari works
     
  21. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #21
    I am using the iPhone2,1_6.0_10A403_Restore. Isn't this the correct file?


     
  22. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #22
    It is the correct file, but did you jailbreak it already or only downgraded the BB
     
  23. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #23
    I jailbroke it with this restore!

     
  24. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #24
    6.1.3 is a tethered jailbreak so you will have to use redsn0w's just boot function to get a properly working phone every time the phone shuts down or reboots

    Cydia and safari should work after using redsn0w's just boot function
     
  25. MooPai thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    #25
    Thanks soooo much to darricksailo and TriJetHero, without you I could not have done it. My phone now is upgraded to 6.1.3 and functional on the Rogers network.

    I really appreciate your help!

    One more question, is there a way for me to get back the % sign for the battery? It's not a big deal but if there is a way it would nice to have it.
     

Share This Page