iPad Jailbroken iPad Air LTE

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Saileshbreaker, Jan 8, 2014.

  1. Saileshbreaker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #1
    Hi guys, I'm currently working on enabling LTE on unsupported carriers for the iPad and iPhone but I need a few files to test. Does anyone have a jailbroken iPad Air wifi+cellular? I need the following files from the default carrier bundle directory:

    Carrier.plist
    Carrier.pri
    overrides_N51_N53.plist
    overrides_N51_N53.pri
    info.plist
    version.plist
    AllowedCellularBands.plist

    Can anyone send me a copy of this file?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #3
    Say your carrier provides LTE but the LTE switch isn't available on your iPhone because your carrier isn't a supported carrier by apple, so I have a way to bypass that and enable LTE, then you can just put the proper APN and get access to LTE
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Have you thought about maybe the band support isn't there yet. Good thought on doing it, but there will be several hardware limitations.
     
  5. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    I have already taken that into consideration, if ever the iPhone doesn't support your operator LTE band, it will automatically fall to 2G/3G :)
     
  6. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #6
    Nobody to send me these files? I'm doing this for all those people in need of a tweak to enable LTE
     
  7. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #7
    That might be an issue in some places, but I know of several countries where LTE/4G is available on the same band at multiple carriers but only accessible for iPhone-users if you're on a carrier that has a contract with Apple.

    For instance where I live, I need to switch carrier if I want 4G on my iPhone, or switch phone if I want 4G with my current carrier - despite it being on the same band. So no hardware limitations, only "Apple allowing" limitations...
     
  8. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #8

    You are right, for e.g in my country, there is only 1 apple supported carrier, even though all other carriers also offer LTE, so I get LTE only on the apple supported carrier
     
  9. cchunk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    #9
    I have a t mobile air. Idk where to find these but am willing to help. Just guide me in the right direction
     
  10. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #10
    Install openssh or ifile then go to var/mobile/library/carrierbundles

    You will find 3 carrier bundles folder,
    I need the second and third folder , that is carrier bundles and carrierbundles.unknown

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  11. Mactroki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #11
    It would nice to have a tweak. Personally I had to work it out manually after googling a lot. The adding of the show4gswitch key made the trick.
     
  12. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #12
    Just adding the show4gswitch doesn't give you LTE access, you have to edit some other files
     
  13. Mactroki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #13
    Hmm... No.

    This key is enough and of course it requires to use commcenter patch. I am talking about my own experience on my French carrier.
     
  14. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #14
    Which carrier is it? As far I know almost all French carrier has LTE
     
  15. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #15
    Already got the appropriate file and got a working tweak. Thanks to those who helped
     
  16. Mactroki macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #16
    It was Bouygues, which activated LTE the same day than iOS7. And of course new settings weren't pushed on previous iOS versions. As I wanted to keep my JB iOS 6 on my Mini and enjoyed LTE, I had to activate it manually.

    I did not invent anything but just grabbed information on different sites. As I said I only installed the cydia package then add the key, delete temporary files, reset network settings and that was it.

    But I think it is great that you are making a tweak for that. In France Free has not yet pushed settings for having LTE on 5S/5C.
     
  17. contactmoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #17
    Trying to Get LTE to work

    Hi, I 've stumbled upon your post.

    I'm also on an unsupported carrier and managed to get the LTE switch on.

    But I can't manage to get on LTE even when I know LTE coverage is available in the area.

    Did you have to change any other file apart from those in the carrier bundle?

    did you have to change anything in AllowedCellularBands.plist?

    I'm from Brunei and on the DSTCom network by the way.




     
  18. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #18
    PM me
     
  19. contactmoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #19
    Trying to get LTE to work

    @Saileshbreaker, I'm new...not eligible for PM yet. Any other way to contact you? do you have a twitter handle?

    A bit more info, there are no supported carriers for LTE in my country. So does that mean I have to add something on allowedcellularbands.plist to tell the phone which bands are supported? if yes, what do the numbers mean?

    I enabled LTE switch through default.bundle just by adding the Show4GSwitch but still can't get it to detect any LTE even though I know it's a LTE covered area.
     
  20. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #20
    Provide me your email address, no you don't need to edit anything on allowedcellularbands.plist
     
  21. contactmoe, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    contactmoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
  22. Saileshbreaker, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #22
    Got it, you can remove your email add from here. Sent you an email
     
  23. contactmoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #23
    Trying to get LTE to work

    just got your email. you should remove my email from your quoted post as well.

    thanks.
     
  24. waelshawkat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #24
    how can i help

    I want to join in accomplish this, i have the same issue as my carrier has LTE but not for iPhone.
    I have iPhone 5, iOS 7 and managed to show "enable LTE" switch by install "CommCenter Patch for iOS7+" but till now has no effect.

    I have iPad Air and LTE is working!...

    how can we contact to get it done?
     
  25. Saileshbreaker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #25
    Provide me your email address
     

Share This Page