Java JRE - Not Working (Detected)

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by A4orce84, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. A4orce84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    I have a thread with an application not working, and we have identified the error here:

    Error:
    USA-MAC:~ godsmack$ /Applications/IBM\ Notes.app/Contents/MacOS/Notes ; exit;

    IBM Notes:

    A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java Development Kit (JDK)

    must be available in order to run IBM Notes. No Java virtual machine

    was found after searching the following locations:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/CurrentJDK/Commands/java

    logout

    Saving session...completed.
    ------------------------------------------

    So it appears to be a Java issue? Anyone find a workaround or know how to get things working again?

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  2. dsemf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    #2
    It depends. :)

    Do you know what version of Java IBM requires?

    If 1.6, see https://support.apple.com/kb/DL1824?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

    If 1.8, go to java.com.

    The app I use requires 1.8.

    DS
     
  3. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #3
    Thanks DS for the clarification. I'm 99% sure the version of Java IBM is trying to use is 1.6.

    I downloaded the java package, from the link you provided, but it seems to still be failing when I try to launch the application.
     
  4. rnbwd, Jul 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2015

    rnbwd macrumors regular

    rnbwd

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    After downloading the java6 tool from apple, I noticed a process crashing in the activity monitor every time I booted the machine called MRTAgent (linked to a thread here discussing it). To quote the article:

    If others find this process crashing too, it may have an impact on what's happening, but it's probably not the root cause. I dived deep into the Java Library folders (and system folders rootless) and I speculate that they've changed around some of the core libraries, dependencies, their locations / metadata, and some aspects of 'rootless' may be preventing applications from speaking with one another.

    However, there's probably a way (?) to manually configure and place the Java scripts (and their dependencies) in the folder structure, as well as modify configuration files in multiple places within the System Library and /Library It's complex, and they may have unintentionally broken the paths for Java to run proper. I speculate there are a multitude of libraries working in parallel that are affected by the integration of java into their new folder structure - and they probably decided to release beta with an incomplete Systems folder knowing Java was broken because they know it's fixable and the pros of the new system outway the cons of temporarily loosing the ability to use Java for a few weeks

    I'm sure it's possible to get it working in this latest beta, but it won't be simple or easy. But I think it's simple enough to expect Java working in the next beta :)

    edit: I also speculate it's related to some of the regressions we've noticed in beta 3 = I think they're rewriting some of the internals closer to user / dev land and still have a ways to go - releasing incomplete software (it's beta) - still works for most things most of the times.
     
  5. rnbwd, Jul 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2015

    rnbwd macrumors regular

    rnbwd

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Have you looked at the /Library/Java folder for any JVM's located there? Or /System/Library/Java? If they exist, try to copy or ln -s them into the /Systems/.. location the app is expecting them to be. (you'll need to be rootless) If that doesn't work - good luck.. see if you can access an older build of OS X 0.11 and find discrepancies in the /Library - /usr/libexec - /System/Library/Frameworks - (and a few other folders). It's manual and tedious - but that's what I'd do... if I wanted to run Java on beta 3. If I needed Java I'd revert to beta 2 probably..
     
  6. BrentT macrumors member

    BrentT

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
  7. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #7
    Hey BrentT,

    Unfortunately, that did NOT resolve the issue.

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  8. rnbwd macrumors regular

    rnbwd

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    Yeah I spent 4 hours trying to figure out what happened inside the file with the Java 6 update - does it fix certain apps? It's definitely... not stable. But it might help some apps works. Modern eclipse doesn't use Java6 and it doesn't appear like the java 6 update fixes... well it's inconsistent. (and there's potentially a daemon crashing)
     
  9. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #9
    Hey Everyone,

    Just as an update, this issue appears to have NOT been resolved in El Capitan Public Beta 2.

    Running the command in terminal, I get the following output:

    Output:

    IBM Notes:

    A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java Development Kit (JDK)

    must be available in order to run IBM Notes. No Java virtual machine

    was found after searching the following locations:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/CurrentJDK/Commands/java

    logout

    Saving session...

    ...copying shared history...

    ...saving history...truncating history files...

    ...completed.

    If anyone has any other ideas / workarounds, please feel free to update this thread.

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  10. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
  11. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #11
    Hey Everyone,

    Just as an update, this issue appears to have NOT been resolved in El Capitan Public Beta 3.

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  12. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #12
    Hey Everyone,

    Just as an update, this issue appears to have NOT been resolved in El Capitan Public Beta 4.

    Pretty disappointing so far....Java is a major component of a lot of applications....

    Thanks,
    Asif
     
  13. rnbwd macrumors regular

    rnbwd

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    It seems to have been fixed in dev beta 4 - I'm currently on dev beta 6 and it's still working. There shouldn't be any difference between the public beta 4 and dev beta 6 - I didn't download the optional java 6 fix or do anything special in the config files - it should just work.
     
  14. A4orce84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #14
    Unfortunately, this is what I'm seeing when I try starting the application through the command line:

    Output:
    /Applications/IBM\ Notes.app/Contents/MacOS/Notes ; exit;
    IBM Notes:
    A Java Runtime Environment (JRE) or Java Development Kit (JDK)
    must be available in order to run IBM Notes. No Java virtual machine
    was found after searching the following locations:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/CurrentJDK/Commands/java
    logout
    Saving session...
    ...copying shared history...
    ...saving history...truncating history files...
    ...completed.

    [Process completed]
     

Share This Page