JB iPhone 4.2.1 - Feedback from a n00b

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Xhita, Feb 10, 2011.

1. Xhita, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

Xhita macrumors member

First of all, congrats to all of you!! Without this forum I would never be able to get this far with my JB. :D

I'm fairly new with JB. I got my IP4 at the end of Oct last year and I waited for iOS 4.2.1 before JB. Since I didn't want to have a tethered jailbreak, I had to wait for Greenpois0n to be released (last sunday). And here's my feedback for those newbies which, like me, are always nervous that something will go wrong. :p

JAILBREAK
    Windows XP
    Greenpois0n
    iPhone 4, iOS 4.2.1

To start with, I don't care about unlock. I live in Europe and the carrier will release the iPhone if I ask them.
    The JB went smoothly and worked fine on the first try. I strongly suggest you use the guide publised in http://www.iclarified.com/
    Downloading Greenpois0n and performing the JB took a total of 5 minutes. And the phone has worked fine every since (plus no battery issues).

THEMES
    The iOS 4.2.1 has "killed" a lot of the functionality in most themes. For example, if you install SlantedLock or AnalockHD, you can no longer set your own background image (no fault to the amazing developers, this is Apple's fault). So I decided to use a simple theme that would show the crisp wallpaper in the Retina Display: GLASKLART HD.
    HomeScreen.png

The HomeScreen also has a rotating wallpaper app, which I'll explain in a second.

For the LockScreen, I went with a stripdown version:
    LockScreen.png

And the LockScreen has this charging battery (3D Gauge HDready):
    Charging Battery.png

FREE APPS
    I've installed the following:

a 1derful HD WeatherIcon (theme) - adds a crisp icon to the Weather Icon
    Activator - allows you to create "shortcuts" anywhere in the phone. For example, to turn my WIFI on/off, I just doubletap the statusbar.