Joystick & Xplane

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by dimme, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #1
    I have a Logtech force 3d pro joystick and xplane 9. The joystick is very sloppy with some planes others it works ok. I use the same stick with Xp and FSX and have no problems and works fine with all planes and the force feedback is cool.
    I have tried changing the settings in xplane and it does not seem to help. Anyone have any ideas what I can try next. Also there was a force feedback plugin for ppc xplane, has anyone seen one for intel macs.
     
  2. podusaf20 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #2
    joystick problem

    I have the logitech extreme 3d pro joystick and an apple imac. since this is a plug and play joystick for mac i plug it in and nothing happens i tried to set up the x-plane 9 for it to work and i cant get it to work. any help?
     
  3. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #3
    I'll preface my comment by saying I have not played XPlane in a long while. However... how familiar are you with XPlane? If not, the programming must be done (the last time I ran it) in the XPlane interface, something along the lines of find the drop down menu for controls, select a control, see if the joystick control registers, and program it. I know that is not very specific but maybe of some help.
     
  4. dimme thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #4
    Well it's been about a while and I am still trying to figure out what is going on. I would like to fly in X-plane more but the controls are real hit or miss. Some flights and planes things work great (not as smooth as FSX) and other times it is unplayable. I never have a issue with FSX on the windows side. I was thinking of getting a new stick but now I think I will just be wasting money, since FSX works fine. Any thoughts?
     
  5. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #5
    From what I have read on the Internet, there are many varied opinions on your stick. There are many who call it junk, but others like it.
    My CH Products Flightstick Pro works very well on my Core2Duo Hackintosh with Leopard and X-Plane 9. I have not installed FSX on this computer.
    The yoke on my Hackintosh Core i7 works great with Snow Leopard and X-Plane 9. It only needs to be programmed with X-Plane 9. No Mac Control Panel adjustments or drivers needed.
    On the other hand, on the Core i7 under Windows 7, 64 bit, running FSX is a problem. Programming the yoke is a hit or miss proposition. It will not accept most of my programming, and what it does accept, is gone with the next boot up. Consequently, I have stopped using FSX for now.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16826102008&cm_re=yoke-_-26-102-008-_-Product
     
  6. dimme thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #6
    Thanks for the response. yes I have read the same about the Logitech stick. I am leery of spending the money on a new stick just it find out I have the same problem in x-plane. I just can't figure out why it would work great in FSX and not xplane.
     
  7. maccompaq macrumors 65816

    maccompaq

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #7
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...8002&cm_re=ch_joystick-_-26-238-002-_-Product

    The price is down to $60 from what I paid, $79. Sometimes they offer free shipping.

    Anyway, it has been a very reliable stick for X-Plane 9 and Leopard for over a year. Most of the planes included with X-Plane and many that I have downloaded respond quite accurately compared to real airplanes.
     

Share This Page