Just Cancelled order

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by droo, Nov 6, 2016.

  1. droo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #1
    Guys,

    Been doing allot of thinking since I ordered my maxed out 2016 15" but I have now canceled.

    Reason being my current 2012 rMBP does all I need and does it well, apart from needing a new battery (currently at 72% capacity having done 600 charge cycles) Which I am going to go see apple about under UK consumer laws I would expect better.

    When I added up all the adaptors I would need the final straw was the fact a 2nd charger does not even come with the cable to connect it to actually charge the laptop - WTF its not even a charger, just a power brick.

    This combined with the fact I use the SD card slot allot and also 2 thunderbolt network adaptors at the same time (The new network adaptors have a long lead time) mean that I have concluded its not really for me.

    What would have made me stick with it would have been availability of network adaptors, the inclusion of an SD card slot, 32GB ram option for when running lots of VM's and finally not getting rid of magsafe, which has saved my laptop a good few times from tripping over the cable.

    I hope apple re-find their direction in the next release.

    Drew.
     
  2. cmaier, Nov 6, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016

    cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Lol. If the U.K. Law is such that you are entitled to a free battery after five years of use, it is no wonder the U.K. economy lags.

    As for apple finding their direction, they are doing fine. The number of folks who need 32GB ram is small, especially given the swapping performance on these things given their record-breaking SSD speed. The 2TB option is much more important than the missing 32GB option in the real world


    Also:

    https://www.zdziarski.com/blog/?p=6355
     
  3. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #3
    The battery is supposed to be good for 1000 cycles at 80% capacity. Mines no where near that and goes to sleep if I am under load on the battery.

    Drew.
     
  4. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    There will most likely be a 32gb option next year, unless Intell messes up their release plans. As to SD card or MagSafe... I wouldn't bet on it
     
  5. hj576 macrumors regular

    hj576

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    And then you complaint about the lack of 32GB RAM. If your 2012 model does all you need, it means you do not need 32GB RAM, why is that an important reason for not considering the new Macbook Pro ?
     
  6. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #6
    I currently make do by running VM's in different groups, if I could I would run the whole lot in 1 go, and its RAM I run out of as I simulate a full integrated corporate environment with AD, Exchange, Sharepoint, Web Servers etc.

    Drew.
     
  7. spacebro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #7
    Here come the 16gb ram defenders to tell us how apple deciding to use low power ram is intel's fault.
     
  8. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #8
    To be honest I get the whole reason why at the moment it would not be suitable to put 32GB of RAM in at the impact of battery life.

    Maybe if apple were not so obsessed with size they could have made the form factor big enough to put a bigger battery in (but below FAA limit size) and some ports for connectivity and also given the option to have 32GB of ram but with the impact on battery life noted ?
     
  9. agaskew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    #9
    Just try and imagine how much Apple will slap on in $$$ for 32Gb RAM.
     
  10. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #10
    I'm sure it will be at least double what the RAM would cost in a PC, but I would pay it as it would be useful to me.
    To be fair theres not many options in the 32GB laptop space at the moment.

    Drew.
     
  11. vipergts2207 macrumors 65816

    vipergts2207

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #11
    It is Intel's fault to some extent, but Apple did have ways around it. They just prioritized other things over it.

    What I don't get about these people always chiming in "well why do you guys even need 16 GB of RAM, nobody I know does, blah blah blah". For the record, personally I don't need it. But is it so hard for these people to imagine that others were making due with 16 GB of RAM until the new MBP's came out with 32 GB (obviously didn't end up happening). Or how about the fact that some people may expect their RAM requirements to increase during the lifetime of their computer and would like to futureproof it as much as possible (especially at these sky high prices). If RAM needs never increased we'd all still be using 640 KB.

    Seems like everyone thinks they're a power user and that if it works for them then it should work for everyone else too, when in some cases those aforementioned people could really get by with an MBA.
     
  12. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #12
    Don't forget that the RAM Apple uses is significantly more expensive than your normal DDR.
     
  13. spacebro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #13
    For years I did web development on a 1gb ram netbook. It was just fine for web development. I use for a tv a 2011 mac mini, it has 8gb ram even though as a tv it could probably do ok on 2gb. I would make fun of anyone who complained that they need more ram in a computer used for tv. Now I do app and hardware development on a mbp. I always have parallels running, android studio, xcode, and several eclipse/visualstudio environments open along with tons of pdfs and browser tabs. 16gb is not enough, it is always using swap space. I need 64gb to have a future proof workhorse laptop that will last me 3-4 years. I was even hoping for a 6 core option. It isn't 2012, I am not going to buy a 16gb ram machine for 4k but if they sold a 64gb 6 core machine for 8k I would not hesitate to buy it.
     
  14. Speechless macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Location:
    Non-gentrified Brooklyn.
    #14
    uhm...you could have shipped it to me instead, selfish.
     
  15. droo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    #15
    Just order anyway i'm guessing the backlog will not be as great as it was !

    Drew.
     
  16. x-evil-x macrumors 68030

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #16
    Sounds like you should just stick with a desktop
     
  17. spacebro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #17
    I would consider the imac but I use a display that is nicer and bigger than any imac display. Should I get the imac and hide its crappy screen behind my actual screen? It seems ridiculous to buy laptop hardware built into a screen and then not use that screen. What about when the thing I'm working on is too big to bring to my desktop? What about when I need to travel and work on site somewhere, I should pack up a desktop in my carryon? I don't need a desktop, I need a performance laptop.
     
  18. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #18
    what display are you using? the 5k iMac's screen is pretty nice.
     
  19. x-evil-x macrumors 68030

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #19
    Might be a while with apple then. I don't see them having super high performance for another few years. Are you looking into any other alternative now?
     
  20. fs454 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles / Boston
    #20

    This is ridiculous and you are trying to split hairs. 32GB is a legitimate NEED for many people, I am sorry that other work exists in the world besides yours.
     
  21. hj576 macrumors regular

    hj576

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #21
    Did i ever once say 32GB is not needed by professionals?
    I am just stating he is contradicting himself, on one side not having a 32GB RAM is a deal breaker since he needs it for his work, on the other end his 2012 Model (which obviously does not have 32GB RAM) is enough for his work. Which one is it then?
    Either you need 32GB RAM or the 2012 Model is sufficient,cant really be both at the same time
     
  22. willyx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    #22
    In my experience, the 1000 cycles to 80% capacity claim is pure bullsh*t. All of my Macs have reached below that capacity well before the 1000 cycles.

    Funny thing is that, if you are out of warranty (and this tends to happen shortly after the warranty expires), Apple washes its hands.

    But even funnier is that Apple is the only company having suitable OEM batteries for their laptops, so you have no other choice than paying them for a safe replacement.
     
  23. spacebro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    #23
    I'm using a 43" 4k wasabi mango. This thing was a game changer for my desk setup. Now I have a giant screen pushed up against the wall so that computer stuff takes up very little space on my desk. There is so much space for all the pdfs and schematics on the screen and so much space for real stuff I'm working on. I don't see a need for 5k because this 4k screen is huge and I still cannot see an individual pixel. Maybe if I upgraded to a full 60" screen the entire width of my desk I would need a 5k.
     
  24. KassyKat macrumors newbie

    KassyKat

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Home
    #24
    As far as the charger being a 2 piece unit, I am ecstatic! I have several fur balls at home that seem to be of the attitude that Apple cables are their favorite snack, and spending $25us on a cable as opposed to $80us on a full adapter with the cable is a lot nicer on my wallet. And the combined cable and adapter is less than the MagSafe charger.
     
  25. Fancuku macrumors 6502a

    Fancuku

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Location:
    PA, USA
    #25
    Within the first 3 years of ownership I think. Otherwise they won't replace it free of charge.
     

Share This Page