Just curious, do you need Windows? If so, why?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by melman101, Oct 22, 2009.

  1. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #1
    Hey all,
    I recently got a copy of Windows 7 Professional from my job. I installed it on a 32gig partition on my 320gb Macbook Pro 13". But I'm wondering why I need it? When Starcraft 2 comes out I'm just going to buy the Mac version. Why do you have it installed? Just curious.

    Thanks,
    melman101
     
  2. Sneakz macrumors 65816

    Sneakz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  3. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    if you dont need it, ill take it off your hands :)
     
  4. appledyl macrumors regular

    appledyl

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    I would never want windows on my mac. There would be literally no point unless i was a hard core cross-platform developer. OS X has an alternative (almost always better) for essentially every windows program. Why have Windows? Also. I am excited for Starcraft II as well! I've played Brood War for ages.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    find me a ProE alternative

    or Fluent

    or Mathcad

    ;)
     
  6. ziggyonice macrumors 68020

    ziggyonice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Rural America
    #6
    Unfortunately, some companies refuse to make software for Macs, that's why. It's usually because their decisions are biased. Can't wait for the day that Macs have a good chunk of the market -- they're going to have to suck it up and let go of their crap PCs.
     
  7. Frankie. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #7
    Editor/Compliers for my programming classes that aren't Mac supported.
     
  8. PAC88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #8
    Forex Trader Pro and most other forex trade platforms only work with windows.
     
  9. Niiro13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Blu-Ray.

    Maya (64-bit is currently only for Windows).

    Games (Steam games don't run well enough to practice professionally).

    If blu-ray came out for Mac and somehow CrossOver manages to get full compatibility with Windows games as well as near full performance (DirectX will still be missing) and Autodesk makes a 64-bit version of Maya for Mac, then I'm good :D.
     
  10. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #10
    Law database for my uni and games of course that dont have Mac version (UT3 :mad:)
     
  11. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #11
    ...accessing anything via Citrix is much easier on winXP/IE than OS X/Safari (unfortunately)...
     
  12. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #12
    i never had issues with citrix with osx back in my school days for what its worth
     
  13. Richard1028 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #13
    Uh... to run Windows programs?

    Really, is this a serious question? Do you expect everybody to list which of the 50,000+ windows applications they use?

    What in god's name will anybody do with this information?
     
  14. Frankie. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #14
    Find software that they've never heard of. Experiment with this software.
     
  15. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #15
    To have a customizable OS that will run on my quad-core $600 PC.

    EDIT: Office 2007, definitely.
     
  16. m85476585 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #16
    Quartus II, Matlab is faster, Office 2003, etc.

    That too.
     
  17. MacsOnAnabolics macrumors regular

    MacsOnAnabolics

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    #18
    I just installed windows 7 home so that way i can play games not available for mac os. Also, my gf is more familiar with windows so it makes her a bit more comfortable.
     
  18. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #19
    I need Windows XP basically for MS Paint. And that's about it.

    But even if I didn't "need" it, I'd still use it. I like Windows, there's nothing really wrong with it IMO.
     
  19. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    I really, really hope that I will have no use for Windows once I get a MBP next year.

    The only thing that I can see me needing is Visual Studio for classes.

    I hope WINE (or equivalent) supports VS2008...
     
  20. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
  21. La-vida227 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    #22
    excel. Office on a mac is a pain in the ass. Plus I don't think you can do regressions on office 2008
     
  22. Frankie. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #23
    Use Windows for porn, keep Snow leopard clean
     
  23. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #24
    I think you're doing that wrong.
     
  24. Frankie. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #25
    It was a joke.. not meant to be taken seriously :p
     

Share This Page