Just got a text message that there 20 stations on the DC Metro subway

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Chip NoVaMac, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #1
    The shame is that it is only for certain stations and not the tunnels as Verizon and some Sprint customers currently have. :(

    May have to walk a bit to the stations listed, so that my 20 minute wait between trains late at night are not so bad......
     
  2. NDimichino macrumors 6502a

    NDimichino

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    Without intending to be mean, I have no idea what you're trying to say, and I'm sure some others are having trouble too--thus resulting in the lack of responses...

    Is this post about radio stations on your phone?
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    ...umm, what?
     
  4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

    ucfgrad93

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    Yeah, that is clear as mud.:rolleyes:
     
  5. countrydweller macrumors 6502

    countrydweller

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #5
    Must be talking about the subway and lack of coverage compared to Verizon.
     
  6. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #6
    Since the other posters don't understand the OP's post, I'll explain. If you have AT&T, you don't have cell coverage in the metro when it goes underground. The plan was they were going to add AT&T coverage for certain metro stations. Eventually, they'll add it for the tunnels also. The OP was saying that instead of waiting at a station that didn't have coverage, he might walk to a nearby station, so he'd be able to use his cell while waiting.

    Edit: and yes, the Jesus network Verizon has coverage throughout the metro (at stations and in the tunnels), because they paid to have it.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Now, this I can understand. So, now, what is the true purpose of the thread?
     
  8. Jonobigblind macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #8
    Surely there's an app for that ;)
     
  9. wilderness1957 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #9
    They are phasing in the coverage.
    Phase one is complete with 20 or so stations having coverage. There IS coverage in the tunnels between 2 stations that have service.
    AT&T is slowly going into phase 2 with coverage in the other stations and then phase 3 is all the tunnels. Verizon paid to put their service in there and passed the added cost on to its customers. From reading the Washington Post WMATA is paying to add AT&T service to the tunnels
     
  10. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #10
    I live here and barely understood what the OP was talking about. Basically, AT&T has service in the 30 busiest metro stations in DC now. The only problem is that service doesn't extend through the actual tunnels, so while I can write an e-mail in the tunnel, I'll have to wait until I hit Metro Center (for example) until I send it. As far as the point of the thread, I'm not sure. I really hope the OP doesn't honestly think that walking from Foggy Bottom to Farragut West at night just so he can use his phone in the station is a good idea.
     
  11. strike1555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #11
    Wow...just give AT&T 2 decades and they might catch up to Somalia in quality and service.
     

Share This Page