iPad Pro Just got an iPad Pro, my experiences vs the Surface Pro 4

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Ryan0751, Feb 1, 2016.

1. Ryan0751, Feb 1, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016

Ryan0751 macrumors regular

I know that the topic of "iPad Pro vs Surface Pro 4" has been beaten somewhat to death, but I figured I would share my take on it to help others trying to make the same decision process (without going into specs, since everyone knows what those are).

First off, some background... I'm a software engineer by trade, and my hobbies include electronic music production/DJ work, and photography. For personal machines, I have a lovely 2013 Mac Pro on my desk with two 27" 4K monitors, and a 15" Macbook Pro (late-2013). I've also got an iPhone 6s plus and an iPad Air (1st generation).

Last January, curiosity got the best of me and I purchased a Surface Pro 3. I have to say, it wasn't love at first sight. I found Windows 8.1 to be clunky, and the floppy keyboard "not quite a laptop but not quite a desktop" model took some time to get used to. I stuck it out though, and eventually found that I wasn't really using my iPad Air (1st generation) anymore at all. It was pretty neat to have that bigger screen, and have access to full Windows desktop apps.

When Windows 10 came out, the experience became much better. Windows 10 is actually the first windows version in a long time that I actually like!

In the fall when the Surface Pro 4 came out, I decided to give the Pro 3 to my dad, and picked up a 4 for myself. It's a lovely little device, the new Type Cover 4 is so much better than the previous version, I'd say it's very close to using a Macbook's touch pad and keyboard (smaller of course). There are some issues with bugs and Windows 10 that MS has been slowly resolving, such as freezing on wake, issues keeping the devices asleep, etc.