Just got my MBP. Need help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LadyK8, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. LadyK8 macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #1
    Okay, so I have a bunch of apps on my iPod. How do I get them on my new MBP?
     
  2. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #2
    Oh my.

    Do you mean how do you get them into your iTunes library? Whatever you do, DO NOT plug in your iPod at this point... you'll erase it.

    Google "Transferring contents of iPod to new mac" for instructions on how to do this.
     
  3. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #3
    Okay. Thank you very much! I didn't plug it in yet.
     
  4. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #4
    Where do I get the iStat Pro app? And how do you turn the apple logo light off that's on the back of the laptop?
     
  5. Diseal3 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #5
    http://www.islayer.com/apps/istatpro/

    Cant turn off logo. its using light from screen
     
  6. Matthew9559 macrumors 6502a

    Matthew9559

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    iStat Pro is a widget.

    Here's the website.

    http://www.islayer.com/apps/istatpro/

    Your system will confirm that you want to install the file. Just accept and it will be plopped onto your dashboard screen.

    You can also download the program version of it at...

    http://bjango.com/mac/istatmenus/

    I don't believe you can turn off the Apple logo glow. Might be a program somewhere...
     
  7. Inara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    I suggest black tape on the apple logo. It gives a sense of anarchy to the MBP :cool:
     
  8. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #8
    Thanks you guys. lol

    One more question....for now. I have the adobe and firefox disk icons on the wallpaper screen. How do I get them off? The only option I have is to eject them, but I'm certain that I shouldn't do that. lol
     
  9. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #9
    Okay, so I installed istat pro, but it seems I installed it multiple times. I'm trying to delete it, but I can't. How do I delete it so I can redownload it?
     
  10. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Just drag it in to the Trash and it should delete.
     
  11. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #11
    You are fine to eject them, they are just the installer packages. Once you have installed the apps then it is perfectly safe to remove the installers
     
  12. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #12
    It went into the trash, but there are still 4 of them showing in the dashboard.
     
  13. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #13
    Thanks. I was able to do that with the Flash player but the one for Firefox won't go away. Here's a screenshot:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #14
    Screenshot for you:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. TheFarmer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    #15
    ^Bwahaha that screen shot made my day lol. Hope you get it worked out. Sorry I don't know the solution to your problem. :eek:
     
  16. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #16
    Have you restarted the Mac? and tried again
     
  17. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #17
    Press the + in the bottom right corner and then select Manage Widgets, you can remove them from there
     
  18. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #18
    No, because I'm calibrating the battery, and don't want to screw it up. I won't worry about it right now, and I'll see how it is tomorrow. lol

    Mik3F, thanks for the info on the widget. I had no clue that plus sign was right there. lol Definitely a MBP newbie. :)

    LOL TheFarmer, it is really funny to look at.
     
  19. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #19
    restarting won't affect the calibration. The only thing that will affect it is plugging the charger back in
     
  20. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
  21. elpmas macrumors 68000

    elpmas

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Location:
    Where the fresh snow don't go.
  22. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #22
    Restarted it, and still can't delete it. It's saying I can't because I'm using Firefox.
     
  23. Mik3F macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #23
    You have moved the firefox app to your Applications folder?
     
  24. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #24
    Quit firefox, drag the application from the disk image to your Applications folder, eject the disk image, and open firefox from the Applications folder.
     
  25. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #25
    Okay, thank you guys so much. It worked! lol

    Thanks for your patience. :)
     

Share This Page