Just restored to 2.2.1 from 3.0. Sorry Apple.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sd2009, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
  2. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #3
    Put the phone into DFU mode.
     
  3. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #4
    i have in DFU mode, but the pwnage tool wont recognize my iphone! ive been sittin here since last night trying this over and over and its not working
     
  4. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    Try a PC. That's the one distinct difference I am noticing from those who were successful and those who weren't.
     
  5. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #6
    I'm using a Mac.
     
  6. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #7
    Oh for some reason I thought you used Windowz but that was a different poster.
     
  7. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #8
    So I just restored again to try and iTunes said HELL NO you cannot restore. (So my iPhone must be permanently like this), but anyway I just put it into the DFU mode. I think its DFU mode anyway. I just hold both buttons down and then let go of the top one. I had to try a few times to get it right. And then my screen was black and I plug it into iTunes and it says HEY YOU GOTTA RESTORE THIS so I said okay and now its restoring like it should :)
     
  8. lostfan916 macrumors 6502a

    lostfan916

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    #9
    Interesting... did you use a pwned/custom ipsw or did you just restore and let iTunes do the rest?
     
  9. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #10
    The first time I used a custom IPSW, although i disabled all of the jailbreak stuff in pwnagetool, like cydia, installer. This time I just used the standard IPSW that iTunes provides (I just clicked restore). I don't think the fact that it was custom made it work the first time.
    Note that iTunes still won't let me restore like normal. Maybe its just a coincidence, but I think its because my iPhone is permanently "locked" into a developer mode, like Apple said it would be. Or maybe it detects the baseband. I have no idea.
     
  10. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #11
    i dont know what to do. myphone is like stuck in DFU mode. i cant get pwnage to get the right firmware. it says wrong bundle selected or what not. anddd itunes wont restore. it says unknown error 21. cool!
     
  11. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #12
    what is displayed on your iphone screen
     
  12. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #13
    shows the itunes icon then the usb plug under it. saying to plug it up
     
  13. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #14
    Im not sure if thats DFU mode. Use pwnagetool to create a custom IPSW and then follow the instructions it gives you. it then tells you if youre in DFU mode. I did that and then went into iTunes (and uses the regular IPSW)
     
  14. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
  15. aaquib macrumors 65816

    aaquib

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    I'd do it, but it sucks that your baseband can't be downgraded as well.
     
  16. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #17
    pwnage tool tells you to turn off by holding power button and sliding the power thing. instead of doing that, hold down both buttons for 10 seconds. then it will turn off. then follow the rest of the instructions as normal. you may need to unplug and replug your iphone a few times if it doesnt work right. (make sure you kill ituneshelper)
     
  17. madbad01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #18
    I'm having an issue with fixing my iPhone from 3.0!

    Okay, so my idiot brother woke me up this morning at 7am and handed me my iPhone saying that it's not working. I've now found out that he downloaded an OS update for 3.0 and updated my iPhone with it and now it's stuck in recovery mode but when I go to connect and restore it it say..

    "iTunes could not connect to the iPhone "iPhone" because it is locked with a passcode. You must enter your passcode on the iPhone before it can be used with iTunes."

    The problem is, my iPhone is in recovery mode and when I go to type my code in it just takes me to the emergency call screen.

    WTF do I do?! Thanks!
     
  18. PimpGGG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    #19
    alright i did it successfully on my Mac, butttt i didnt let me recover my last back up, so now i gotta redo mostly everything lol even my contacts
     
  19. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
  20. Smith288 macrumors 6502a

    Smith288

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #21
    Pretty sure Apple doesnt care.
     
  21. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #22
    I'd be too scared to use my main phone line (that i use for talking to my family, girlfriend, both jobs, and 'support') to update to 3.0Beta.

    I am not an early adopter of the 'you wont be able to change back, but you can try - and some people will be able to'
     
  22. sd2009 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    #23
    3.0 is unusable for the real world.
     
  23. MistaBungle macrumors 6502a

    MistaBungle

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
  24. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #25
    3.0 is currently BETA, you do know what BETA means?
     

Share This Page