Just test drove a Galaxy S II

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brig2221, Oct 4, 2011.

1. brig2221 macrumors 6502

I went down to my loacal AT&T store to test drive a Galaxy S II in anticipation of possibly switching if I don't like what Apple rolls out this afternoon. I have been hanging on to a 3GS for over two years now, so I'm itching to get a new phone and am not real excited about the prospect of getting a 4S (could be completely wrong, will know in a couple hours).

Here are a few of my takeaway's after test driving the Galaxy S II:

The Good:
    Beautiful 4.3" AMOLED display. I know it doesn't have the PPI of the current iPhone 4, but I literally could not tell a difference. The colors are very striking and vibrant, which is all the more enhanced on a 4.3" display.

I have literally NEVER used an Android device before, even to mess around. Test driving the Galaxy S II today was literally my first time to do so. I've got to say that the Android OS was not bad. It was pretty intuitive IMHO, and I easily figured out how to get to most everything I needed to in a short amount of time.

It was as light as a feather! I literally could not believe how light that thing was. I'm guessing a lot of it has to do with the rear attachment. It is a piece of plastic, whereas the iPhone is a piece of glass. That said, I did not mind the plastic at all, and I liked the texture it had as it would seem to be resistant to scratches and such.

The Bad:
    The keyboard is freaking awful! I could not type worth a darn on that thing, and that was with a much larger screen and real estate to work with. I figure I would obviously get more used to it over time, but I've gotta say, I was really turned off by the keyboard.