Keynote vs. Powerpoint

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by queshy, May 5, 2007.

1. queshy macrumors 68040

queshy

Hello everyone,

So I decided to try Keynote (my trial was actually expired because I opened it once then closed it...) - so I can't save/print anything.

But let me tell you, I am extremely surprised. Keynote mops the floor with Powerpoint (PC + Mac version)!

Wow.

First of all, the entire UI is really neat and easy to use. Everything makes sense. Particularly, though, is that it's so easy to animate the items in each slide. Creating visually appealing presentations is so important and it's so much easier on Keynote than on Powerpoint. I can't believe I've been using Powerpoint for the past like 5 years! I tried opening a powerpoint presentation on keynote and it worked perfectly - probably because there was no powerpoint eye candy within the presentation (I gave up doing that stuff because it just takes too long, and is too annoying).

I find that the Keynote effects are extremely impressive. Does anyone know if the new version of office that just came out for PC has similar effects?

I want to buy Keynote, but hte problem is that in my experience, the computers I've had to run the presentation off are PCs...so if I ever do buy a Mac laptop, I WOULD definitely pay for iWork. I can't say much about Pages as I haven't tried it - and hte lack of a spreadsheet program is pretty big. I wouldn't replace MS OFfice with iWork, but I would definitely replace powerpoint with keynote.

So for those frequent powerpoint users out there - go give keynote a try - it's really great.

2. M@lew macrumors 68000

M@lew

3. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

Chaszmyr

Keynote can export to Powerpoint or Quicktime format for the presentation to be run on PCs.

4. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

keynote is about the only thing in iwork that is obviously better than M$ office's counterpart. but