Kodi + AppleTV

Discussion in 'Apple TV Apps' started by ZeRoLiMiT, Dec 23, 2015.

  1. ZeRoLiMiT macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=238524

    Update from 2015-12-22

    MERRY CHRISTMAS

    Well thx to the great work of MrMC in porting the stripped down Kodi fork to TVOS and because it is christmas (and i took some days off from work) here is the first inofficial pre-pre-pre-alpha release of Kodi for TVOS (AppleTV4). There is still a lot of work to be done and a lot of stuff to discuss before this can hit mainline and we can call it a new supported platform (please keep this in mind - no ETA):

    http://mirrors.kodi.tv/nightlies/darwin/...s-tvos.deb

    Sourcecode: https://github.com/Memphiz/xbmc/commits/yab

    Deployment:
    1. Since there is no jailbreak for the AppleTV4 yet there is only one way to deploy/install Kodi to the device.
    2. Fortunately DanTheMan already crafted a handy tool for resigning the deb file. Find the tool and install instructions here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=245978
    3. If the AppleTV4 runs TVOS 9.0 - you can install via XCode 7.1 and newer
    4. If the AppleTV4 runs TVOS 9.1 - you need XCode 7.2 for being able to install

    Known issues:

    1. No way to add or change any xml files (like adding addon zips or advancedsettings.xml files)
    2. NFS Support is not working atm
    3. A dozens more i can't remember right now.
    I DON'T WANT TO DO SUPPORT FOR THIS BUILD - ITS JUST A SNEAK PREVIEW IF EVEN! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE REFRAIN FROM ASKING ANY SUPPORT RELATED QUESTIONS

    I will remove all questions about Genesis, 1Channel and how all those illegal bastard addons are called. If you feel you need to post about this here - please go away instead...

    Now enjoy the free time with your family and not with Kodi only if possible [​IMG]
     
  2. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
  3. ZeRoLiMiT thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
  4. loekf macrumors 6502

    loekf

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    #4
    Sorry, but don't see the added value (yet). MrMC is working fine for me. Only missing features are HD passthru and ISO support.
     
  5. john.spirou macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
  6. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #6
    Addons do work if you install manually. I've also found themes work as well.
     
  7. ZeRoLiMiT thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
  8. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #8
    Some have errors, but my fave addon worked fine when i sideloaded it as did the theme.
     
  9. enzom21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    How are you manually installing themes?
     
  10. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #10
    Using the kodi built in file manager
     
  11. enzom21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #11
    That I know but do you mind walking me through it?
     
  12. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #12
    In File manager. Add source home/addons
    Open addons on the left

    Add source ( a network share folder with extracted add-on/skins inside)
    Open network share on right.

    Long press select on skin/add-on. Choose copy
    Close kodi, reload. Done
     
  13. enzom21 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #13
    Thanks, much appreciated.
     
  14. StevenWalker, Dec 24, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015

    StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
  15. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #15
    I've installed some addons... but they wont run.

    When i shutdown Kodi, and restart... I get a "Failed to start Commoncache" error message. I'm guessing this is why certain addons dont work as well...?

    Anyone know a fix for the "Failed to start Commoncache" ATV4 message????
     
  16. myrtledog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    #16
    Yesterday I downloaded Kodi MrMC to my ATV4.
    Often when I start a movie it'll begin playing with a commentary track instead of the films soundtrack. No worries I think and simply go into audio and select the correct track. Visually the change happens but there isn't any change to the actual track I hear. In other words no matter which of several audio selectios I make the same track continues to play...
    I hope this makes sense. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  17. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #17
    This is about kodi not MRMC. They are not the same thing.

    Ask the Dev on the the mrmc site for support seeing as you paid for it.
    http://mrmc.tv
     
  18. ZeRoLiMiT thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #18
    Correct Kodi and MRMC are completely different
     
  19. dschulian macrumors regular

    dschulian

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    Nice work Memphiz! Will check that out once my USB-C cable arrived. :)

    OT: Can someone tell me why exactly MrMC is allowed to get payed for porting an open source project? is GPL so ****ed up?
     
  20. frosty001 macrumors member

    frosty001

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #20
    Are the any videos or good site that show what Kodi can do beyond other HTPC UIs?
     
  21. ZeRoLiMiT thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #21
    anyone know a better way to install a zip file to kodi some reason its not reading my networks drives
     
  22. cRuNcHiE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    #22
    Sharing from a mac? Its a samba issue becaus apples smb is broken I think.

    I read somewhere about installing proper samba on the mac instead.
     
  23. StevenWalker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    #23
    Quick question, once Kodi is setup and addons installed and it is all running good.

    In the future if you install a new build that may get released, does this wipe everything and you have to start all over again from nothing, or does it only overwrite the Kodi files it is replacing?

    Thanks
     
  24. Peepo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #24
    http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/selling.en.html
     
  25. Peepo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #25
    I think if you use the same bundle identifier it will update correctly.
     

Share This Page