Resolved KOMPUTERBAY FB-DIMM 677MHz extreme thermal paste leakage?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by m4v3r1ck, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi guys,

    My brother and I are upgrading his Mac Pro 3.1. Because his on a tight budget we searched and bought:

    Komputerbay 16GB (8x 2GB) DDR2 PC2-5300F 667MHz CL5 ECC Fully Buffered 2Rx4 FB-DIMM (240 PIN) w/ Heat-spreaders for Apple computers

    Amazon link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B007PNAQW2?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

    The first shipment had 2 DIMMs DOA! The exchanged full set of 8 DIMMs have this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    NEVER seen this on bought DIMMs from Transcend! Very disappointing purchase and send my comments to amazon, to check this with the manufacturer. :mad:


    Could you please recommend (point me to) to not to pricey (tight budget) DIMMs that will have a much better quality build?

    Thanks and suggestions appreciated!

    Cheers
     
  2. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #2
    Just buy a bunch of used server pulls off ebay. that's what I did and the temps difference is negligible. I got 4x4gb HP (hynix) ram for about £25 if I remember correctly.
     
  3. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #3
    Amazon Arch Memory $23 2x2GB and never had trouble and they run a cold 59*C, and filling all DIMMs improves performance. If you may need more than 16GB then maybe ebay for 4GB FBDIMMs which people have reported excellent - ~$100 for 8x4GB server pulls with good heatsink ram.
     
  4. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Thanks for your quick responses! I'll check your recommendations.

    @IowaLynn your link refers to Komputerbay seller, I'm a bit confused. Will this not be the same make but simply named another brand? Sorry for my question.

    Cheers
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    Yes - and no?

    Sold by Komputerbay and Fulfilled by Amazon.

    4GB FULLY BUFFERED PC2-5300 DDR2 ECC (FB-DIMM) (2 X 2GB) FOR APPLE KIT
    by Arch Memory

    I have bought 3 sets of these. I have read of issues with K's brand (here, and on Apple Discussion)
     
  6. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Thanks a lot! I'll calculate the import taxes and duties with Customs!

    Cheers
     
  7. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #7
    Assuming it is not carried by Amazon UK, I would go the ebay route if the cost is out of line. 4x4GB server pull might be ideal - and 4 FBDIMMs only (always test with just new RAM first and not mix with others for 2-3 days and watch).
     
  8. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #8
    If budget is a concern you're seriously wasting your money with anything but used server RAM. Rather than go for rubbish "certified" ram, go for something that was made good to begin with.
     
  9. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Thanks! Could you please share a link, the price would even be right with shipping, taxes and duties included.

    Cheers
     
  10. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Thanks! No, we'll not be mixing DIMMs. It'll be exchanged with all 8 modules (new/used) to 16/32GB!

    Cheers
     
  11. gpzjock macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #11
    I use Memory America for my Mac Pro 3,1 RAM. I bought 2 sets of 8 GB (800 MHz not 667), the first set had 1 stick die after 3 years and the second set had the same happen after 2 years. Memory America replaced both batches under warranty and neither sets of replacements have failed since. http://www.memoryamerica.com/4fk225672800at.html
    Lifetime warranty ftw.
     
  12. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #12
    You obviously didn't read the review that I posted on that Amazon listing about the crap quality & dreadful customer service with Komputerbay FB-DIMMs http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/customer.../ref=cm_cr_pr_rvw_ttl?ie=UTF8&ASIN=B007PNAQW2

    Avoid like the plague. Two FB-DIMMs were dead & my 2008 Mac Pro wouldn't even boot with them installed. The other two FB-DIMMs were recognised as 2GB 667MHz not the 4GB 800MHz I had paid for. It was a tortuous process to get a refund & I eventually had to invoke an A-to-z Guarantee Claim from Amazon to force them to refund me. All in all it took about 4 weeks to get my money back.

    As other have already said buy used 667MHz FB-DIMMs pulled from Xeon servers. For the price of those dreadful Komputerbay 8x2GB FB-DIMMs you should be able to buy 8x4GB to max out the Mac Pro at 32GB.
     
  13. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #13
    Thanks, but including tax and duties will it will not become the softspot regarding his budget.

    Cheers
     
  14. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    I did read your review on the products page at Amazon! I made the purchase because of so many 4/5 stars.

    Well we go hunting for some other memory now, two bad deliveries is to much!

    Again thanks or all your advice and directions for the alternative cheap memory. Apreciated!

    Cheers
     
  15. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
  16. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #16
    Should do :)
     
  17. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    Thanks a lot! Never bought refurbed server DIMMs for my Macs, so needed a confirmation! Thanks for the reply.

    Fingers crossed for the quality! ;-)

    Cheers
     
  18. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    UPDATE:

    Installed the 8x4 32GB DIMMs and are working perfectly after several stress testing in the cMP 3,1! Up and Running.

    Thanks again to all for the directions!

    Cheers
     
  19. syrinxfilms macrumors newbie

    syrinxfilms

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Location:
    Southern Cali
    #19
    Just chiming in with my experience: I bought the Komputer Bay Modules (also called Arch--but in my case they had (upside down) Komputer Bay stickers on them. Total FAIL. Sped the cpu fans to warp speed on two separate tries. Unacceptable even if cheap. Bought from Amazon and now see multiple reviews confirming this. Other reviews claim the reason is they don't have a temp sensor so the system assumes they are burning up and spins out of control. Do not buy. I previously bought some cheap ram on eBay that worked fine, but I'll need to pull them to remember the brand.
     
  20. StarlightSun, Dec 8, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2015

    StarlightSun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #20
    Hi all - first post here. Wanted to start a thread, but thought I'd jump in here as it's somewhat related. Recently bought this 8GB Komputer Bay set via Amazon UK:

    http://www.komputerbay.com/computer...-fb-dimm-with-apple-heat-shields-976609a.html

    Running a 2008 Mac Pro (3,1) with 4GB. After installing the Komputer Bay kit - on the top card/riser - I'm now successfully on 12GB RAM, however I've noticed these are running hotter than the 4 x 1GB sticks I had before. The 1GB modules are running around 45-55C, whilst the new Komputer Bay 4GB modules are at 75-78C. I've had a search, and it appears to be somewhat within normal range, but I find it odd to have these readings when the Mac is idle, or not doing much. The fans start off really loud as the MP boots, then they slow back to normal speed. I can only imagine the heatsinks on the Komputer Bays aren't up to scratch as the others. The silver clips look similar to the Global Memory clips, with the groove design which all the Crucials/Apple/OWC etc don't seem to have - is this the reason? Should I be worried?

    Happy to look for another brand, the 8GB kits don't seem too expensive, only that I couldn't find trusted Crucials/OWC etc a couple of weeks ago, but some have now popped up on eBay. Ironic.

    Thanks!!
     
  21. m4v3r1ck, Dec 8, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2015

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #21
    Hi @StarlightSun and a warm welcome to MR!,

    You'll find a good bargain on Ebay! I took the advice from @nigelbb & @Inutopia. Still running those 8x4GB's like clockwork in my bro's cMP 3.1 (2008). Highly recommended. Good luck!

    Cheers
     
  22. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #22
    Komputer bay are crooks. I have seen so many reports on here regarding bad FB-DIMMs that they have sold. They should be avoided at all costs. Please put a review on Amazon to warn other.

    I just bought some cheap 8GB parts at $95 for 32GB(4x8GB) http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/151769492689?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    I now have 56GB in my Mac Pro 3,1. I cannot use the full 64GB as while the RAM is fine there is a performance issue with using a PCIe SSD with 64GB as described here http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/cmp-2008-64gb-mem-slow-disks-while-48-gb-fast-disks-why.1940030/
     
  23. StarlightSun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #23
    Thanks! Been lurking for a long time, finally joined up. Will definitely join in more discussion :)

    Thank you. Yeah, I guess I fell for the price and availability on these when I got them. Should've researched in the forums first! I assume you put your own heatsinks for the Mac Pro on those Kingston pulls from eBay? (first link)
     
  24. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #24
    @StarlightSun, we've all - at least I did - made some purchases in the past we regret afterwards! I call that the cMP upgrade learning curve! ;)

    Are you not able to return those KB FB-DIMMS? No need for the heatsinks on the 667MHz, as the run a lot cooler than the 800 MHz, at least we did'nt!

    @nigelb Thanks for your additional info's!

    Cheers
     
  25. StarlightSun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    #25
    Probably! I'll look into returning them. I just wondered about the heatsinks - the server pulls are flat, and the "Mac" heatsinks for the MP are bulky, is all.

    Looks like eBay definitely has some cheaper options than the KomputerBay sets, around £55-70 so I'll look for a set :) Thanks!
     

Share This Page