KOTOR on Intel Mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by G4OS753, Jul 2, 2010.

  1. G4OS753 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #1
    Has be anyone been able to run KOTOR on an Intel machine without any major hiccups?
     
  2. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    not the Mac version... no... I've heard its problematic. I've run kotor and kotor2 Windows versions fine with Wine though.
     
  3. shakzilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    How do you run applications using Wine? I always hear about it but never knew what it meant
     
  4. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    I played KOTOR once mac native, worked ok, I think from memory there was one crashy part but there was a workaround, after that it was fine.

    I much later played KOTOR and KOTOR II via bootcamp with no problems. If you have bootcamp set up already I'd suggest that. Apart from any other considerations, there are fan-made patches around which fix dialogue bugs etc etc which are handy.

    They are fantastic games, definitely worth playing!

    You should note if you haven't already that KOTOR II was released unfinished - for me at least, the climax was a real disappointment (after how great KOTOR and the buildup in KOTOR II was). So brace yourself for that. Still definitely worth playing though, you just have to imagine what it might have been. Sigh.

    Wish they would do a Mass Effect-grade KOTOR III rather than this massively multiplayer stuff.
     
  5. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    its not always easy...

    you might want to check out portingteam.com
    on the forums there you can get lotsa wrappers people have thrown together that work decently. You basically just have to put your installed game inside the wrapper (which is a mac .app) then you can just double click and play.

    I make something called Wineskin (http://wineskin.doh123.com/) that a way to make Wine based wrappers for Macs. Its not super easy, but I've written up some documentation... once you get the hang of it it can be pretty easy. With Wine though, it is a game by game process... it cannot run everything, or everything at default... so it often takes a lot of troubleshooting and fixing to get a game working right... which is why people that are good at it share their wrappers so other people can just stick their game in it and go.
     
  6. Anale macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    #6
    Kotor was incredibly glitchy for me, first time I played it through I wasn't able to finish thanks to a bug and had to start again.
     
  7. Huntn macrumors P6

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #7
    I run KOTOR on Steam (Windows version) via Bootcamp, without issues.
     

Share This Page