Leaving Apple, but How?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by benjobe2513, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. benjobe2513 macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #1
    As it becomes more apparent that Apple won't be updating the Mac Pro this year I have begun considering my options, one of which being the switch to a PC platform. But how hard is this transition?

    Perhaps I'm posting this in the wrong forum. Has anyone here managed this transition before? Perhaps someone can point me in the direction of those who have?

    I know that I will have to purchase new licenses for most of my software. That's going to be a headache. Are there other speed bumps to this switch that I'm not aware of?

    Some background:

    I'm a video editor. I switched from FCP7 to Adobe when FCPX came on the scene (half-baked in my opinion, although now I understand that it's improved with updates). At first my 2010 Mac Pro 6-core was very capable of meeting my needs. But about a year ago I started shooting 4K footage and my system couldn't keep up. So I upgraded all the internals of my system. Here's my current config:

    2x 6-core 3.46GHz
    48GB RAM
    2x Nvidia GTX 980 in Cubix Xpander
    512GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD-SATA (OSX)
    512GB Samsung XP941 SSD-PCIE (scratch)
    2x 1TB Samsung 840 Pro SSD as RAID 0 in a Sonnet Tempo Pro PCIE (media)

    Even with this very fast system (Geekbench Multi-Core Score: 32000) I'm getting poor playback in my PP timeline when several filters are applied to a clip. Renders and exports also take a long time.

    I believe what's holding me back is my dated motherboard, old CPUs, and slow RAM. It's my hope that switching to a more modern PC system will eliminate these bottlenecks.
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #2
    Your hardware is not holding you back. Modern CPUs are not much faster just more efficient at lower clock speed. The fastest newest RAM doesn't make much real world difference. PCIE 3 doesn't show much real world difference over 2.0 for graphics. It's your software that isn't optimised for your demands. Maybe the Windows versions will be better optimised. Just Bootcamp it for now. That will help you decide.
     
  3. kic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    #3
    Echoing what SoyCapitan said: have you tried running PP in Windows and compared performance? I don't deal with 4k video, but I can tell you that, at least where final export and rendering is concerned, PP in Windows is remarkably faster than OS X.

    Regarding switching, unless you have OS X-only software, there's nothing to it. Just grab Windows 8.1, install what you need, and go. (Unless you want to wait for Windows 10, but I haven't used that--8.1 has been rock solid for me.) Granted, I'm a multi-OS guy, but really, all modern OSes are easy to figure out.
     
  4. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
  5. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #5
    For the record, I'm in the same boat. Awesome hardware, ****** performance in Premiere.

    It drives me mad that FCPX runs like a dream whereas Premiere struggles and chokes with the same footage. It's night and day what Final Cut can do compared to Premiere. I'm unfortunately forced to use Premiere because of the features it has that FCPX lacks.

    So while I'm not glad you're suffering with me, I can at least add some assurance that the problem is not your hardware.
     
  6. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #6
    Do you use the original 4K media or converted proxies or high quality media using some ProRes or CineForm codec?

    I recently edited 4K Sony XAVC footage on my quad core machine, but converted it to ProRes HQ in order to have a more fluent experience.
     
  7. violst macrumors 6502

    violst

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    #7
    Thats what apple really made the new MacPro for, FCPX working with 4K video. Haven't you seen all the demos showing the new MacPro eating 4K footage for lunch? The latest version of FCPX from what I hear is really a great app again. Its one of the few apps that is optimized to take advantage of both FirePro GPU's.
     
  8. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #8
    Depends on the codec. Editing video in real time is like chasing chickens. Every time you think your machine is good enough the video industry hits you with a new codec and new video standard that needs more powerful software and hardware again.
     
  9. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #9
    Interesting thought. I've heard that graphics cards perform better under Windows than OSX. Perhaps PP will be faster as well. It's certainly worth a try. Thanks for the suggestion.

    Since I have Adobe CC '14 I'm allowed two installations, so in theory I can download all the Adobe Windows apps onto the bootcamp partition. (I currently have them installed on my laptop so I'll just have to deactivate them there first)
     
  10. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #10
    Thanks for the info. I'll give it a try.

    I've heard that Windows 7 Professional is more stable and secure than 8 so I might go that route.
     
  11. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #11
    Thanks for the reassurance. It's lame that the software is holding back our excellent systems.
     
  12. benjobe2513 thread starter macrumors member

    benjobe2513

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Humboldt County, California
    #12
    Thanks for the suggestion. I've heard of that workflow and it's benefits. I'm just hesitant because of the storage space it would require and also the extra time spent converting the footage.

    To be honest that's one of the reasons why I left FCP 7. I had to convert all my AVCHD footage into ProRes422 in order to edit. It's so nice with PP being able to edit directly from the original files.

    Frankly, it's likely unfeasible with my projects, which already require 36TB worth of storage just for the original AVCHD files. If I converted all that to ProRes422 I'd be looking at an ungodly amount of storage (and backups).
     
  13. hojx macrumors 6502

    hojx

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    I would suggest that you hold on for a while wait for OS X El Capitan. The new OS promises huge performance improvements especially with Metal API that Adobe has pledged to support.
     
  14. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #14
    Windows 10 apps optimised for Direct X 12 are showing huge gains
     
  15. l3it3r macrumors regular

    l3it3r

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Hagerstown, MD
    #15
    I wonder how Adobe's adoption of Apple's Metal api will affect PP in OS10.11 in the near future?
     
  16. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #17
    AFAIK only Windows 8.1 EFI install has AHCI enabled on cMP. I have Windows 7 installed, has slower IDE drivers. Enough for games, but I'm considering also installing Windows 8.1 for productivity apps. I recommend installing Windows on it's own drive.

    Read this: http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...-gtx-980-cmp-4-1.1881051/page-2#post-21545362
     
  17. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #18
    Does it make much difference? I benchmarks SM951 in Windows Bootcamp and it scored almost 100mb/s higher than OSX
     
  18. jasonmvp macrumors newbie

    jasonmvp

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #19
    I just did this. I went from a modified 5,1 (2 x 3.46GHz, 48G, nVidia GTX 570 (older system)) to a 6,1 Mac Pro last year. This year, I sold the 6,1 and moved all of my editing (photo, video, etc) to my Windows box. At the same time, I used the funds from the sale of the 6,1 to overhaul the Windows box.

    (FWIW, my 5,1 is now a server, and a very good one too!)

    I don't think it's applicable to list all the bits and pieces here, since this is the Mac Pro section of Mac Rumors. But suffice it to say, my gaming rig turned editing rig just completely obliterates both Mac Pros from an overall usability perspective. I loathe, despise, and detest Windows. But, like you, I use the Adobe suite which is far more optimized for the Windows environment than it is OS X. So the combination of (much) faster hardware and an OS that the suite prefers left me with a very quick system. I regret throwing OS X away with that move, but it has become such a turd with Yosemite that I've lost my itch to continue using it.

    That's my opinion. Folks here are telling you that you have "good hardware". Your Xeons are not good for Premiere, After Effects, etc. They're acceptable. Comparing them to a single fast Core i7 of today is almost a waste of time. Specially when you overclock it.
     
  19. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #20
    36TB of avchd footage? You poor soul.

    I always use ProRes or DNxHD to record footage, just for the extra information.
     
  20. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #21
    I have the impression it's slower.

    Windows 7 or Windows 8? AFAIK Windows 7 with IDE drivers works only on internal SATA 2 ports of the cMac Pro. Mine is running on port 1. If you have AHCI you can use SATA 3 PCI-E cards for the Windows SSD drive.
     
  21. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #22
    I know nothing of video editing / creation. Just throwing this out there. If you feel you MUST change, try building an Ubuntu render farm and or Ubuntu system. Full production movies are being created by the Blender.org group and they use linux everything.
     
  22. Lauwie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #23
    Adobe CC and OS X don't really work together that well, maybe things will improve with metal (Adobe claims to be rewriting apps to use the API/Library).
    You'll defo have better performance on windows when using CC :)

    (In general Adobe Premiere's performance has always been slower then the competition)
     
  23. Lauwie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #24
    Direct X12 more specifically D3D12 doesn't have the same compute capabilities as an API like Open CL.
     
  24. Lauwie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #25
    You don't really use blender to edit video, just create the clips for movies ;)
     

Share This Page