Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrMoris

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 24, 2015
Hello,

I am a new photographer and I need some help with learning the lenses.
I have the Nikon D5500 and I have 3 lenses and I was wondering what every lens is good for.
1. Nikon AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II.
2. Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G.
3. Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G.

Thank you so much for your help,
Mor.

kenoh

macrumors demi-god
Jul 18, 2008
Glasgow, UK
Hi Mor,

OK, I am an amateur so feel free to ignore me.

1. The 18-55 is the kit lens. This is an OK starter lens covering an OK zoom range. However as you grow as a photographer you will use this one less and less. What you will do however is benefit from using it to see where you naturally like to shoot i.e. what focal length you have it on most often.

2. The 18-105 is a slightly more useful lens as a walk about catch all lens. however, you need to keep your shutter speed up to keep good images as it doesnt have VR.

3. This lens is the one you want to learn to use. Although as a 50 on your camera which has a cropped sensor - APS-c not full frame, then it may feel a little tight at the edges. Don't worry this will start to make sense to you soon.

What you need to do is be comfortable with your lenses right now. You have enough there to start to get a feel for what you want to do. Google and youtube are good sources for info on learning to use the lenses but as a rough rule of thumb here are the focal lengths and their usual uses. Note, the rules of photography are there to be broken so these are guides not mandatory more a case of the lenses most useful for...

Shorter than 21mm for extra wide angle and speciality shots i.e. fisheye
21mm-28mm Wide angles usually for landscapes and some street