Leopard Install Blue Screen - CONFIRMED Solution

Discussion in 'macOS' started by oliverlubin, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. oliverlubin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #1
    see here:
    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1195031&tstart=0 (3/4 way down)

    this works!

    it seems that ApplicationEnhancer/ShapeShifter might be causing this so if you can, remove these programs before upgrading.

    original instructions:

    1. Reboot into single-user mode (hold Cmd-S while booting machine)
    2. Follow the directions OSX gives you when you get to the prompt (I think these were them - just type the two commands it tells you to):
    fsck -fy /
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    3. Remove the following files:
    rm -rf /Library/Preference Panes/Application Enhancer.prefpane
    rm -rf /Library/Frameworks/Application Enhancer.framework
    rm -rf /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/Application Enhancer.bundle
    rm -rf /Library/Preferences/com.unsanity.ape.plist
    4. Exit, to continue booting normally
    exit
    restart

    NOTE: some of the paths are different, mine were as follows:

    1. Reboot into single-user mode (hold Cmd-S while booting machine)
    2. Follow the directions OSX gives you when you get to the prompt (I think these were them - just type the two commands it tells you to):
    fsck -fy /
    /sbin/mount -uw /
    3. Remove the following files:
    rm -rf /Library/PreferencePanes/Application Enhancer.prefpane
    rm -rf /Library/Frameworks/Application Enhancer.framework
    rm -rf /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/Application Enhancer.bundle
    rm -rf /Library/Preferences/com.unsanity.ape.plist
    4. Exit, to continue booting normally
    exit
    restart

    for those of you not familiar with the command line in order to enter these paths begin typing the line of text and hit Tab to have it complete the current folder name (up to the next /). if you it Tab twice it will tell you the options that are available. Ideally you should be typing in enough of the line that it's the only option to "auto complete" when you hit Tab.

    my system is a G4 1.42 mini, 1GB RAM. I attempted an Upgrade.
     
  2. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  3. oliverlubin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #3
    agreed. i had completely forgotten id tried ShapeShifter at some point in the past. curiosity obviously came back to bite me though... lesson learned.
     
  4. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Menufela is awesome, and gives me the screen space I need....my grandad can't see the mouse without MightyMouse...if you don't have a great need for Unsanity apps, you guys are right in saying they shouldn't be used, but don't dismiss them as a whole...
     
  5. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #5
    This does not just affect ShapeShifter. Programs like Logitech's Control Center install Unsanity's Application Enhancer without the user knowing it. I suspect a lot of people will be having upgrade troubles then.
     
  6. indiekiduk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #6
    Yep I can confirm ShapeShifter makes it stuck blue screen at reboot after install. Above instructions worked perfectly. Just be careful entering them, you wouldn't want to do rm -r on System, Library or Preferences by accident!!!
     
  7. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #7
    I can confirm that removing Application Enhancer enabled me to boot into Leopard.

    As I have a clone of my hard drive I booted into it and deleted the files on the New Leopard Upgrade hard drive using finder. Worked a treat! PHEW! :)

    These are the files I deleted on my Leopard Hard Drive

    /Library/Preference Panes/Application Enhancer.prefpane
    /Library/Frameworks/ApplicationEnhancer.framework
    /System/Library/SystemConfiguration/ApplicationEnhancer.bundle
    /Library/Preferences/com.unsanity.ape.plist
     
  8. gnownayr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #8
    if i haven't installed shapeshifter or logitech or anything should i be ok? is there any way for me to check if these are on my computer, and if so, can i delete them before i do the upgrade?
    thanks!
     
  9. Mindcrime macrumors regular

    Mindcrime

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #9
    Spotlight "Term" - Open Terminal, type:

    locate ApplicationEnhancer

    or

    locate unsanity

    or

    locate "Application Enhancer" (with quotes)

    Take your pick. If it's embedded in your system, one of these should ferret it out for you.

    Edit: Removed a pair of typos.
     
  10. gnownayr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #10
    thanks i'll do that! i'm not on my usual computer right now. no quotes for unsanity? and also if it finds them, should i delete them, and using terminal? sorry for all the questions, i'm not used to using terminal. do i type exit before i quit it?
     
  11. Mindcrime macrumors regular

    Mindcrime

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    #11
    The quotes are for phrases, to keep them bound together in the same search parameters, so if the term you're looking for is one word, then no quotes. (In my original post I wrote -- locate "ApplicationEnhancer" -- I typed the quotes here by accident; they're not necessary actually since it is technically one word. The quotes can't hurt though, so if you're unsure just use them. However, they are necessary for -- locate "Application Enhancer" -- since the search is for two separate words. Sorry for the confusion.)

    If you find them, then follow the proceedure at the top of this thread to delete the files using Terminal.

    When you're done running the commands, you'll see your command line prompter (it will look something vaguely like this: name:~ Username$ <blinking input cursor> ). Just Command + Q to exit it.
     
  12. adav macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #12
    re: post #1

    genius - thanks so much for the note on tabs to find the files, mine too were in different paths.

    many thanks:)
     
  13. jdsam macrumors member

    jdsam

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    Hanover, NH ... for now
    #13
    Can you run the the remove command from terminal, so I don't need to restart into the single user mode (if that's what it is called).

    Thanks J
     
  14. Taylor C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    #14
    I did an erase and install, and after booting into Leopard and getting everything all set up, I'm stuck at a blue screen after reboot. I tried archive and install, it worked, but the problem has come back.
     
  15. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #15
    Well - next time I wait for at least a week or two. I had the bluescreen on the Upgrade option. This is a CD Mac-Mini, purchased just after they came out with the "new" ones last year, and upgraded to 2GB memory. Nothing fancy installed - iLife, iWork, etc.

    I did the reboot with the "c" key held down, and selected the Archive and Install this time based on a few other articles. Voila! Mahvelous!

    That worked - now to go through the rest of the setup.
     
  16. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #16
    Um i just want to point out that i also got the blue screen with the mouse pointer. I waited 3 minutes and Leopard booted up no problem. I don't have any crazy 3rd party applications though.
     
  17. Agathon macrumors 6502a

    Agathon

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    #17
    I discovered that, and I will never purchase a Logitech product again.

    APE is evil.
     
  18. Masquerade macrumors 6502a

    Masquerade

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #18
    according the news you got leopard before developers. so, you can expect this not only from insanity:
     
  19. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #19
    Aha! I do use a Logitech S530 keyboard and mouse. If this is true, I have one for sale as soon as I get another setup. :mad::mad::mad:
     
  20. dkeninitz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #20
    I got Leopard to successfully install on my MacBook Pro and a G4 TiBook. Got the BSoD on a MacPro, PowerBook G4 and PowerMac G5. The above solution (removing the APE files) worked on the PowerBook but not on the others, so now I'm doing the Archive & Install approach on the last two. What a royal PIA this is: if I wanted to have these kind of installation problems I could have stuck with Windoze. Given how many people are reporting this problem (there are 200 posts with 6,000 views on it at Apple's discussion board), I can't fathom how Apple could have missed it during beta testing. What'd they do, use a beta test group of ten people. I think Apple dropped the ball on this one, but no doubt they'll sweep it under the rug and deny there's a problem.
     
  21. Agathon macrumors 6502a

    Agathon

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    #21
    Yeah, my mac was acting strangely, and I googled around and APE was supposed to be responsible, but I hadn't installed it... except it was there. Damn Logitech.
     
  22. mac-convert macrumors 6502a

    mac-convert

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Are we there yet?
    #22
    I suppose the good side is that we can stop wondering when 10.4.11 will come out now! Next we can look for iTunes/iPhone/iPod touch upgrades.

    Hey - did my Mac OS X just get mini-bricked tonight? :rolleyes: :D
     
  23. alcibiade macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #23
    Blue screen problem resolved with the command lines solution.

    thank you guys!!!!
     
  24. lawguy51 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #24
    Blue Screen Not Gone :(

    When I execute the command line:

    rm -rf /Library/Frameworks/Application Enhancer.framework

    I get a long list of files that are marked Read Only, so are not deleted. Same thing happens when I execute:

    rm -rf /Library/Preferences/com.unsanity.ape.plist

    I have no idea what to do about that. Any suggestions?

    Thanks, Lawguy51
     
  25. Virgil-TB2 macrumors 65816

    Virgil-TB2

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #25
    Either you are not in single user mode as per the directions or your permissions are screwed up.

    Use DiscWarrior 4 if you have it, or permissions repair from the Disk Utility to fix them?

    Sounds weird though and could be something else entirely that you have done. If I was having problems like that though I would take the quicker, and easier way out, format the drive and start over fresh. Much less hassle.
     

Share This Page