Let's talk trucks

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by LumbermanSVO, Nov 29, 2007.

1. LumbermanSVO macrumors 65816

Big trucks! Np I don't mean big pickups, I mean semi's. I'm a truck driver and in the last 9 weeks I've driven over 30,000 miles. The average person only drives around 12,000 a year.

So I thought we could have a thread where anyone could ask me, and any other professional drivers that may be on the board, any truck related question you might have.

Now folk let's keep this friendly. If you want to just complain about trucks or drivers then please start another thread. That's not what this one is for.

2. adk macrumors 68000

adk

I have a random question: What's the longest you've driven in one stretch, ie where did you start and finish, and how many miles?

3. LumbermanSVO thread starter macrumors 65816

Actually, yesterday. I took 28,000lbs of general merchandise from the Target DC in Pueblo, CO to a store in Rapid City, SD. I couldn't drive until 9:15am and the delivery time was 7:30pm. I got there at 7, so 9 hours and 45 minutes, straight through, didn't even stop to use the restroom. Normally I would stop every 2-3 hours to stretch and use the restroom.

A driver can only legally drive 11 hours straight. A driver also can't drive 14 hours after coming "on-duty" after there last 10 hour break. We also can't drive after being "on-duty" for more than 70 hours in the last 8 days. If you work and drive no more than 8.75 hours a day you'll never have to worry about the 70 hour rule. Yesterday could come back and bite in the rear in a week if I don't watch out. Luckily I've only driven 2 hours today and am 15 minutes from my next pickup at 7 am.

4. it5five macrumors 65816

it5five

Does it annoy you when people want you to honk your horn? You know, what kids do and everything. Or am I alone in this childhood experience?

5. LumbermanSVO thread starter macrumors 65816