LG Ultrafine only supports one input... right?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by spaceballl, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I will be getting a new MacBook Pro, but I also have a Chromebox and an Ubuntu box that I'd like to plug into this monitor. It looks like this monitor only has a single TB connection. I assume it's a no-go, then, right? Any creative ways to get multi-monitor input driven through some kind of hub / KVM thing?
     
  2. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #2
    I think so, I was hoping it would have two, so i could use my ps4 on it as well (when i buy one) and not worry about having to plug/unplug. Since the monitor would also be charging the laptop.
     
  3. Cougarcat, Nov 4, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016

    Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #3
    I am interested in knowing this as well. I assume you would need to connect this to a thunderbolt dock, which defeats the purpose of having an inbuilt one.

    Edit: The other USB C ports are only USB 2 (??) so yes, you'd need some type of TB3 dock.

    Oh, I think you're talking about the 5K monitor, as the 4K isn't TB at all.
     
  4. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #4
    just like the original thunderbolt display, you NEED a TB3 capable machine in order for it to work and its one input only just like the original TBD.
     
  5. Floris macrumors 68020

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    Bummer, I was hoping I could have an all in one solution for that.
     
  6. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #7
    Actually, just saw the the requirements for 5k, says it requires mac running os sierra, so it seems that its ONLY made for a mac with TB3 which currently limits it only to 2016 mbp.
     
  7. rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #8
    It's worse than that. I checked with Apple and the MBP/2016 can not run any other 5k monitor, even via MST with TB3-->TB2/DP dongles etc. So if you already have the Dell UP2715k or other 5k display, then tough luck! Thou they have yet to update the applicable support pages for some reason. Meanwhile, all the other Macs are probably waiting for external (USB-C) TouchBar Keyboards, which may take a while.
     
  8. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #9
    I don't think there are any 5k TB3 displays. I can see the mbp not being compatible with existing 5k displays that is not TB3.
     
  9. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #10
    Are you sure about that? Sounds odd. Where have you read that?
     
  10. tryrtryrtryrt Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    #11
    On 4K yes. Read the spec on apple.com.
    On 5K no.
     
  11. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #12
    You are right, thanks. Sounds quite silly though. I read the same about the LG usbc screen (not the LG/Apple one).
    Maybe because it is not using TB3 for connection?
     
  12. tryrtryrtryrt Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    #13
    Yes, USB 3.0 gen 1 just does not have enough bandwidth.
     
  13. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #14
    Good to know. So basically the ONLY monitor that would be enough to replace a thunderbolt station (meaning ONE cable, and some USB3 ports working at full speed) would be a TB3 monitor.
    So just the LG 5K then?
     
  14. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #15
    Consider the Dell displays. I loved my Apple Cinema Display, but I finally upgraded to 27" Dell 4k displays (they have 5k models available as well, on-par with the price of the LG model). I want it to be able to work with my Windows PC. The ACD would, because it used miniDP. But the thunderbolt display or the new LG UltraFine display won't work with anything else but a Thunderbolt equipped machine. That level of proprietary-ness is just unreasonable for me.

    Heck, since the Dell displays have HDMI; you could plug in a Satellite TV box or video game console. I'm seriously considering adding a Sat TV box in here so I can flip my second monitor to the news or a ballgame or something while I'm working.

    They don't look good. But neither do the LG Displays. So that's moot at this point. If my choices are between a pair of blocky, accountant's-desk looking monitors; each highly rated, accurate and calibrated? I'm going with the one with more inputs.

    I have the "non-ultrasharp" because it fits my needs and is much cheaper. But the Dell Ultrasharp 5k displays are very much on-par with the LG UltraFine... but you can plug other stuff into it than one Mac.
     
  15. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #16
    I see your point.
    But I won't use it with anything else than the macbook pro (I already have a setup with a Dell screen, happy with it, has plenty inputs but just using for the MBP).
    And the BIG plus of the Dell 5K screen is the integrated USB-C station.
    Which means I get rid of the TB station I have now and all the wires attached to it. Only one wire for the screen, and one between screen and MBP. Thats a huge plus
     
  16. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #17
    In that context, go for it.
     
  17. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #18
    Also, I thought that Tunderbolt3/usb-c integrated displayport signal.
    Am I totally wrong?
     
  18. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #19
    It does. But it doesn't appear to be using that. For example, the Apple Thunderbolt Display only worked with Thunderbolt ports, even though Thunderbolt ports also include DisplayPort video.
     
  19. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #20
    Because its thunderbolt, therefore, requires a thunderbolt machine to power it.
     
  20. rdav, Nov 8, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2016

    rdav macrumors 6502

    rdav

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    So/California.
    #21
    That's not quite what I meant.

    There are a few adaptors out there that convert from TB3 to 2xDP. Which might enable another 5k monitor via MST. Unfortunately, these are all (currently) Windows-only. Eg.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/cable-solution-for-dell-5k-screen-with-tb3.2010905/

    Another possibility would be to use two of the TB3 ports, via converters (to TB2). Then hook them both up for an MST 5k monitor. Thou I guess two such setups (2 x5k) would take up ALL the outputs. However, it seems that this too will not work, as per support.

    Apparently, there's some specialised circuitry contained in the LG UltraFine 5k monitors, developed with Apple, which might explain why nothing else will work via the MBP. It might also account for those rumours of a mini-gpu within a display.
     
  21. el-John-o macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Location:
    Missouri
    #22
    I e-mailed two of the companies who make "windows only" TB3 to DisplayPort x2 devices and both said that they are "unsure" whether they will work with the 2016 MacBook Pro. (But they didn't say no). Since the MacBook doesn't have thunderbolt, I wonder if they simply didn't want to create confusion. Some users may see the USB-C connector and assume it 'works' with the MacBook.
     
  22. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #23
    Based on what Plugable said about existing TB3 chipsets not working, I'm doubtful they'll work.
     
  23. Romf macrumors regular

    Romf

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #24
    Asked LG if with the new MBP, the USB3 ports on their 27UD88 get throttled to USB2 as with the macbook 12, here is the answer:

     
  24. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #25
    thats an easy answer. 27UD88 will not throttle down to USB 2.0 speed because the MBP has enough bandwidth. The throttling was a limitation on the 12in macbook being able to run 4k at 60hz.
     

Share This Page