Lion: Missing features

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by skillwill, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. skillwill macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #1
    Just clicking around in this forum, I keep reading that Apple has not just changed, but "taken away features" ... I havn't used Lion yet, so what has been taken away? Kind of made me realise that I'd been concentrating on all the new stuff it has got, and didn't even consider that there is stuff it might not - anything big?
     
  2. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #2
    Some things they removed - iSync, Powerpc apps, Exposé (the all-apps variant), the ever-changing-weather-widget-bug.
     
  3. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #3
    Rosetta (no more PPC apps) and no more all-window expose are the two big things I can think of. Oh, and Front Row.
     
  4. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #4
    only thing that was removed is PowerPC support (rosetta), and front row. Anything else is changes or 'upgrades'
     
  5. simsaladimbamba, Jul 5, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Spaces.
    Instead of this
    [​IMG]
    you get this:
    [​IMG]
    which means for me, as I uses 12 Spaces with dedicated applications in three rows and four columns, I have to settle for something inferior called Mission Control, which shows the current Space and the running applications in a sort of Exposé mode (to get full Exposé mode of one particular application during Mission Control you have to use a swipe gesture on a multi touch trackpad) and all the other Spaces, now called Desktops are on the top, much smaller now than they were before, and only in one row instead of three (or four or two).
    I could minimise my Spaces use, but why?

    That is what is putting me off from this update (and Apple doesn't care a bit, as there are a lot more people buying it than me not buying it), which is a first since Panther (oh how I miss Tiger and its stability with the PPC Macs).
    But that is how it is and that is the way forward for Apple. They are just in the business to make money, and introduce some new paradigms here and there.
     
  6. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #6
    I'm sure you recognize that with a setup like that you're far and away not an average consumer user. Mission control is fabulous for consumers, though I'm still monkeying around trying to come up with some coding desktop layouts that I find suitable.

    And apple, no full screen 2 monitor support? Come on. :rolleyes:
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Yeah, I know that. But Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard is still running, and the problem will only occur, when I need a new Mac, though maybe there will still be 2011 MBPs with SL available next year, or the year after that.
    If I had the money, I would seriously just buy five MBPs now and stow them away properly. Maybe throw in an iMac or two.

    Yeah, I read a lot about this, but couldn't try it yet. Maybe my next iPad, ahem, Mac will have this sorted out then.
    Ah, the power of the www, where one just can spout such rants without consequences. I hope it is therapeutic.
     
  8. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #8
    How different is the 'new way' from Exposé ?
    I really don't care about Spaces, even I tried it several times it doesn't got me to use it. I do prefer Exposé.

    Front Row is gone?
    What would be its replacement? iTunes? AirPlay?
    An App from the App Store?
     
  9. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #9
    isync no longer works? I know they removed it from mobileme, but does the app no longer work in Lion for people who use non-apple devices? How would one sync a nokia phone with the computer contacts and calendar?
     
  10. johnhw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #10
    Somehow in Safari you couldn't drag a link to a tab to replace the page on the tab.
     
  11. Alveezy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #11
    did they really take off the the double-tap dragging? i can't seem to use it. i'd have to set the three-finger drag and it's really uncomfortable, even for highlighting a text.
     
  12. xpipe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #12
    re: spaces/mission control

    How are you supposed to know which space your stuff is in from the little thumbnail? Especially if you leave checked the "automatically rearrange spaces..." option? Thanks.
     
  13. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #13
    Especially if you have 12 Spaces and the icons are so ridiculously small that you can't see them.

    Apple killed Spaces, which was an amazing and very successful feature. OS X was superior to Windows because of this one feature. That's no longer the case!
     
  14. Jamie0003 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #14
    I love the way spaces is done now, and you CAN swipe between each space with a three finger gesture to see each space at a glance. Pressing space on a non full screened app also zooms it in so you can get a better view.

    It's just so much easier to use, I found the original spaces incredibly cluttered. Just my opinion
     
  15. stefan1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #15
    i think for the home user mission control is a nice way to switch between 2 desktops, but just try to swipe from window 3 to window 12 every minute or so, you'll get RSI in no time.

    and is it me or did they put in even *more* shadow around active windows in lion? i don't have SL anymore so i can't compare but i just noticed an enormous amount of shadow, or it could be the new light abstract wallpaper that just makes it more obvious

    what also is a minor annoyance is the iOS spellcheck that doesn't suggest alternatives but makes the alternative primary over my spelling, even when i make obvious errors on purpose.
     
  16. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #16
    Yes. I couldn't care less about spaces either and live in Expose'. But now you have no choice. You'll always have one miniature, useless, screen-wasting space up top now - which is the very same thing you see below it which is much larger (Duh Apple). Also, you can't see all of your minimized windows.

    But, Expose' below the silly-assed "spaces" is much better visually than SL in my opinion. You can set a toggle in system preferences to keep the freaking windows pinned to the same spot. Never understood the logic in SL where they seemingly changed positions randomly. Also, the app icon attached to each window group helps me find things faster.

    I guess. If one has time to flick through a dozen windows.

    Mission Control won't be a show stopper for most but it will come close for many. You'll either love it or slit your wrists.
     
  17. Jamie0003 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #17
    Fair enough. Perhaps it will be changed in an update for people to go back to the 'classic' spaces. For me, I don't use that many spaces and usually click the dock icons anyway or swipe between each app.
     
  18. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #18
    i guess i just miss the point of spaces but it always seemed more hassle than it was worth. it just seems easier to use one window and have all those apps open and when you want to use that app just click on the app icon in the dock and bring it to the front. if you use spaces you have to swipe to display all the screens and then click on the screen you want, this requires more steps.

    what am i missing :confused:
     
  19. Jamie0003 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #19
    No you don't, you can still click on the app icon in the dock and it will take you straight to the App you want.
     
  20. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #20
    I configured Spaces to be activated by a mouse button (one of the side buttons), thus by simply pressing that button with my thumb, I can quickly navigate to the Space I want to. One could also use just CMD+TAB, but when one has fifteen or more applications open (sometimes I have 25 or more), CMD+TAB doesn't cut, and having all applications in one Space doesn't cut, even with Exposé.
    When one has setup specific Spaces for specific applications, one also navigates more quickly, as it has become a habit to navigate to Space #5 automatically when one needs to use Avid, or to Space #2 for Safari.
    When Spaces was first introduced, I couldn't make sense of it either, but I slowly learned to like it and in 10.6 it is quite capable.
    It is a simple feature, but it is powerful, but I know, not many people use it, otherwise Apple would have left it how it was or enhanced it, and not made into one row.

    Anyway, 10.6 still works, so I don't bother. The geek in me just has to let got of going to 10.7 for its newness.
     
  21. skillwill thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #21
    Wow - those are some interesting examples. The changes are pretty huge if you use spaces and expose, but as a lot of people have pointed out - many users don't. I don't use spaces, but I use expose a lot to switch between programmes and drag-and-drop docs and files, and as part of the habit I use the spacebar to spring the app I'm hovering over in expose. So I guess I can sympathise with spaces users who are disappointed too. Not a reason not to get it though as I'm sure after a weeks time I will be totally used to a new system and enjoy using it.

    I will also be interested to see how much I use Launchpad, just looks like an Applications Stack to be honest. But won't judge until I've tried.
     
  22. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #22
    I can't say I use it that much, but I like the features of iSync. Bummer.
     
  23. MikeatOSX macrumors regular

    MikeatOSX

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austria
  24. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #24
    This is a pretty intense example of "Power Spacing" and I commend you for finding a use for this feature.

    I guess there are two camps for this... those that really need a lot of apps open and grouped together and the rest of us that only need to manage a half dozen or so in a single space (i.e., no need for spaces)

    I tend to think that Apple really wants users to "discover" Spaces hence the reason for combining it with Expose'. I'm guessing most people don't understand it much less know it exists.
     

Share This Page