Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Darkroom

Original poster
Dec 15, 2006
Montréal, Canada
i just started learning localization, so i'm fairly new... one thing i can't figure out is how to localize the name of the app.

i can localize strings by doing something like this:

Code:
static NSString * CONSTwelcome;

-(void)awakeFromNib
{
CONSTwelcome = NSLocalizedString (@"Welcome!", nil);
//bla bla bla
}

and then of course i have a Localizable.Strings file with language-specific "subfiles"(?) in the app's resources... so is there someway to do the same with the name of the app?

and while i'm on the subject, what is the point of IB allowing users to change the app's title in the menu bar object if it's not going to stick? it's kinda frustrating... wouldn't it be easier if apple made localizing the app's name just as easy in the .nib as changing all the other menu items? :mad:

Darkroom

Original poster
Dec 15, 2006
Montréal, Canada

i managed to make this work using this link you sent me... but the documentation is not clear... this is how i got it to work:

Info.plist
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
	<string>English</string>
	<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
	<string>${EXECUTABLE_NAME}</string>
	<key>CFBundleIconFile</key>
	<string></string>
	<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
	<string>com.yourcompany.EnglishApp</string>
	<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
	<string>6.0</string>
	<key>CFBundleName</key>
	<string>${PRODUCT_NAME}</string>
	<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
	<string>APPL</string>
	<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
	<string>????</string>
	<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
	<string>1.0</string>
	<key>NSMainNibFile</key>
	<string>MainMenu</string>
	<key>NSPrincipalClass</key>
	<string>NSApplication</string>