Lock the retina MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by stockinvestor, Jul 11, 2012.

  1. stockinvestor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #1
    How do i lock my retina macbook pro ?
    On windows 7 i use "Windows" + "L" keys.
     
  2. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #2
    Use your eye

    Because it's retina it locks when it doesn't scan your retina from the eye...

    Just kidding....

    System Prefferences -> Accounts&Groups -> Login Options -> Check Show Fast user switching menu as....

    On the menu bar you will probably see your user name. When you will click on it you will be able to log out or lock.

    Please note that this doesn't work the same as in Windows.
     
  3. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #3
    If you just want to lock the screen:

    Keychain Access>Preferences>General>Show keychain status in menu bar

    Then just select the lock on the top right corner of the screen then choose lock screen.
     
  4. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #4
    even better.
     
  5. stockinvestor thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #5
    Nice. Is it possible to get a short key to this lock?
     
  6. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #6

    What makes this different than just setting the option to require a password from Sleep/Screensaver? Just curious.

    That's what I have, and I set a hot corner to activate the screensaver. Soon as I do that, the screen is locked.
     
  7. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #7
    I don't think so, no.

    Sleep, as the name implies, makes the computer sleep. That stops tasks you're still doing (e.g. listening to music, backing things up, downloading things in the background, etc). Might be improved with Power Nap a bit though.

    Screen lock keeps everything still running- all it does is lock the screen.
     
  8. revs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #8

    The shortcut is ctrl+shift+eject, unfortunately the MBPr and MBA don't have an optical drive, so dotn have the eject key! so the shortcut is useless on these machines.
     
  9. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #9

    Ah, but mine is set not to sleep when plugged in. I also have the NoSleep app. Music, webpages, apps, etc all stay running when the screensaver is activated.

    Require password when from Sleep/Screensaver is the option name in Settings, I wasn't referring to the action of actually putting the computer to sleep.
     
  10. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #10
    Are you sure?

    I have a mid-2010 Air here that quite certainly does have an eject button.

    If the newer airs and retina pro don't, try f12 instead.
     
  11. stockinvestor thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #11
    yeah i do not have an eject button... on the mac book pro retina.
     
  12. ki7hy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #12
    The power button works fine in place of the eject button. control+shift+power on MBPr and Air.
     
  13. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #13
    Instead of doing finger gymnastics, you might consider writing a quick AppleScript to do it, and then save that AS as an executable. The binary you want to call from the AS is:

    /System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine

    When you "Save As..." in the AS editor, choose the "Application" file format, and it'll compile it and write the entire .app/ directory structure. Then just put that anywhere in your path. Name it something short; mine's called ss.app.

    When I want to lock my screen:
    1. CMD-SPACE to open Spotlight
    2. ss[ENTER]

    Bang, screen locked.

    jas
     
  14. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #14
    Ah I see. That would mean the screensaver runs, right?

    Using the lock screen function results in a black (off) screen. Saves a bit of battery if not plugged in.
     
  15. revs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    #15
    Doesn't do anything on my 2012 Air :(
     
  16. c:v macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #16
    That's awesome, never knew that!
     
  17. speed13327 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    #17
    You can use BetterTouchTool to create a multitouch gesture to make your computer go to sleep or show the login screen. I have a five finger swipe to the right to sleep mine.
     
  18. stockinvestor thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #18
    Cool.
    It did not like that code.. i would like such a solution! :)
     
  19. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #19
    This actually works as he described. Paste this into the script editor:
    PHP:
    tell application "/System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine" to open
     
  20. jasonvp, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012

    jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #20
    Thanks for the AppleScript, and I apologize for not including it in my original post... duh.

    Compile that, then test it from the AS editor. It should fire the screen lock right up for you, forcing you to enter your password to unlock it. "Save As..." an "Application", and then make sure that .app is somewhere where Spotlight can find it.

    Easy peazy.

    ETA: You'll have more luck telling the application to "activate" instead of "open". So in the AS editor:

    Code:
    tell application "/System/Library/Frameworks/ScreenSaver.framework/Resources/ScreenSaverEngine.app/Contents/MacOS/ScreenSaverEngine" to activate
    jas
     
  21. parish macrumors 65816

    parish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Location:
    Wilts., UK
    #21
    Not on my rMBP it doesn't :(
     
  22. Sylon macrumors 68020

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #22

    That's weird, I tried the Keychain screen lock that was mentioned and it also turned my screensaver on, albeit the wrong screensaver that I had set.


    Either way, it looks like, works as long as their is a password prompt for access. I think its basically the same thing, just that there are different ways to get to it. One downside to my mentioned procedure is that if you place your mouse cursor in that selected hot corner on accident, your screensaver will activate.
     
  23. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #23
    Oops, I seem to have made a mistake.

    I was using a black screensaver so it appeared that the screen had turned off, but I just changed the screensaver back to something normal and it looks like it does not turn off the screen.

    Apologies for being misleading :eek:

    I did however take advantage of the opportunity and turned on the 'show with clock' feature- now I can use my MacBook as an oversized digital clock even when it's locked :p
     
  24. stockinvestor thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #24
    Thanks to you and NeoMayhem. I will try this script, but I might fail to do it because i am not coder ;) Thanks ill let you know if i manage to set it up! :D

    ----------

    dont work for me too
     
  25. RabidMacFan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Thanks! I wonder if this is a new shortcut in Mountain Lion, because I thought I tested it before I upgraded and it did nothing.
     

Share This Page