logic board troubles....about to cry/hang myself

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by herr rogers, Sep 5, 2008.

1. herr rogers macrumors newbie

i came back from class and woke my laptop up from sleep. my left USB port is no longer working, my airport wifi is no longer working, my sound is no longer working (although it is still listed in my system profiler and my airport is not).
    When I play a youtube, it will play for 2 seconds and then stop..... All things point to logic board, right? I'm a poor college student and don't have the money to buy a new logic board for my warranty-less MBP!

2. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

Tell me you at least restarted the computer before posting? As sometimes temporary errors can occur when waking from sleep.

TEG

3. herr rogers thread starter macrumors newbie

lol yes of course. several times. i even tried that ctrl, command, p, r, thing.... I was thinking it was of course logic board problems, but the youtube playing problem is kinda a OS problem it seems. but the USB on the left side not working is in no way an OS problem.

4. TEG macrumors 604

TEG

You should also try resetting the PMU (I believe it is the COPS method, as I don't think the Intel Machines have a reset button).

The YouTube problem sounds like a RAM or CPU problem. I would try to find an Apple Store and have them look at it, as it may be something serious, or something minor, like a dislodged connector.

TEG

5. Vulcan macrumors 65816

Vulcan

Same, taking it and see how much it would cost to get it fixed.

6. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

velocityg4

Have you tried reinstalling or at least booting off the install CD to see if it is not some major OS bug? Though this is sort of grasping at straws.

Otherwise you may want to try ifixit.com for motherboard pricing. If it is too expensive you could always sell for parts on ebay. That can get you a surprising amount of money. A few years ago I sold an 800mhz Powermac G4 with a bad MB and possibly bad CPU.