Logic Pro X and macOS Sierra

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by qawes, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. qawes macrumors regular

    qawes

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #1
    Hello!

    I'm tempted to upgrade from El Capitan to Sierra and I would like to know if any of you guys who already upgraded have encountered issues with Logic Pro X.

    I have a fair amount of third party plugins which I'm sure will be updated to address compatibility issues in the near future but I'm mainly interested in the DAW's performance aspects under the new version of OS X.
     
  2. xb2003 macrumors 6502

    xb2003

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Location:
    MO
    #2
    I had a couple of plugins that didn't like it, but Logic at its core works great. It seems a little snappier than El Cap, but I also purged some stuff when I updated.

    I don't use tons of plugins, I mainly just use LPX to record 18 simultaneous tracks for about 1.5 hours 3 times a week, then mix down songs recorded within that. Have done it twice on Sierra, worked great. But if you are mainly doing plugins, your results may vary.
     
  3. Cayden macrumors 6502a

    Cayden

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    I haven't had any issues so far. I had a few expired demo Waves plug ins that it got mad about, but besides that all of my Waves plug ins still work and all my other ones still work as well
     
  4. djippy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    Montreal, Ca.
    #4
    I can confirm that even logic 9 works under Sierra. Even if It seems that saving projects crashes the app for some users (I have read that on the interwebz), I took a chance and did update and no major issues so far.

    Just too bad, logic X will wait a little.
     

Share This Page