Logic Pro X compatibility query

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by snerkler, Sep 20, 2018.

  1. snerkler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #1
    I've recently upgraded my OS to high Sierra and since then my Logic Pro software won't work as it's not compatible with High Sierra. Whilst I know people have been recommending upgrading to Logic Pro X for a while now, but I didn't really spend enough time on it to have justified it. However, it does annoy me that I paid £199 for the software, and then I now have to pay another £199 because Apple have made it incompatible. I guess it's pointless contacting apple and asking they'd offer a discount due to the circumstances ;)

    Anyway, before I fork out another £199 are there any rumours etc about another version coming out making Logic Pro X obsolete soon, or is Logic Pro X here for good and you'll just run updates?
     
  2. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #2
    Actually you made it incompatible by ugrading to High Sierra. ;)

    But I can sympathize... I have a lot of expensive old software for CAD and 3d modelling that would cost over $5000 to upgrade. I'm retired now and it wouldn't make sense to spend that much for stuff I don't use very often anymore. But I still need it from time to time, so I have my 2012 quad mini setup to dual-boot and can use MacOS 10.8.5 when I need the old software. You should be able to do something similar if you really want to use your old version of Logic.

    I assume you are talking about Logic 9 or older? I was reluctant to upgrade from that for the same reasons, I purchased Logic 9 less than a year before they introduced Logic X. But about a year ago I finally upgraded, and it was definitely worth it. Also finally upgraded to Final Cut Pro X and it's great.

    I don't have much problem with spending $200 to upgrade a pro software package. But $1500 to upgrade CAD software such as VectorWorks is tough, especially with the knowledge that they will also make it obsolete in just a couple years.
     
  3. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #3
    Well yes technically I made it incompatible, but I wasn't aware by upgrading to High Sierra it would make it so ;)

    I agree £199 isn't bad for pro software, but I'd still rather not have to pay twice. I just hope they don't do it again :confused:
     
  4. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    Have seen the latest version of Logic Pro X in use?
     
  5. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #5
    No, why?
     
  6. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #6
    Although Logic 9 still "ran" under Sierra, it was pretty seriously broken and crashed frequently. If you really want to continue using it, just setup a external drive with whatever old operating system you were previously using. I always make bootable clones of my systems before upgrading to a new version of MacOS and you should too. That makes it very easy to continue using old software.
     
  7. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #7
    That's a very good idea, cheers :)
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #8
    I don't know how you use Logic or if you'd use the features that have been added since Logic 9 but there are some amazing ones.
     
  9. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #9
    I really like the ability to use my iPad as a control surface, works really well for mixing. And on a more basic level, the dark user interface is very nice, especially in a dimly lit room. :)
     
  10. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #10
    Well I've bitten the bullet and bought the new version. I'm very much a complete novice with the software. I did create an entire track in the past as a learning exercise, but I've completely forgotten how to do it so I need to re-learn. It was very basic anyway what I did before, although I was trying to recreate the early 90's rave sound which was pretty basic anyway ;) I just loaded said track into the new software and it's not recognising most of the samples and sound files so I've got a headache trying to figure out how to get those back on the track now :confused:o_O

    I've just bought a TB-03 and TR-09 in the hope to create some acid house, so that will be another learning curve working out how to sync these instruments with logic and be able to record them. I can see a lot of fun, and frustration on the horizon ;)
     
  11. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #11
    Just noticed that you said you can use the iPad as a control surface, I didn't realise this. I'll have to investigate it as it sounds useful and much easier than using a mouse/trackpad. Can you input notes into the piano roll using the iPad too?
     
  12. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #12
    Info about the Logic Pro Remote app here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/log...pad&preserveScrollPosition=true#platform/ipad

    I only use Logic with multi-track audio that I record live, so I probably won't be very helpful for what you're doing. Since you never really learned how to use the old version, now that you're getting back into it, I think it was a good decision to upgrade and learn the current version.
     
  13. snerkler thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    #13
    Thanks very much, I'll look into it. My TB-03 arrived yesterday so I can start making some acid lines :D
     
  14. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #14
    Logic Pro X was introduced in 2013. $200. Since then every update has been completely free. That was five years ago. Try to compare that with other DAWs. Just saying...
     
  15. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #15
    No, not that kind of editing. It’s more like an external mixer
     
  16. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    Indeed. The value for money is absolutely absurd honestly, when you consider say, Pro Tools.
     
  17. swordio777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #17
    I’m in a very similar situation to the OP so was also wondering whether people expect a significant (ie - not free) upgrade to Logic any time soon?

    I know Logic X is an incredible piece of software and excellent value for money. I only ask because it’s already been out for longer than the usual rotation of numbered versions (4 years between Logic Pro 9 and Logic Pro X).

    I’m very keen to upgrade to Logic X soon, but I’d be gutted if I did so and Apple released a whole new version soon after - perhaps at an October event.

    Or is the general consensus that Logic X is here to stay?

    Cheers.
     
  18. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #18
    I have no idea - and my timing was terrible because I bought Logic 9 less than a year before the release of Logic X. But Final Cut Pro X was released in 2011 and still gets free upgrades, so that offers some hope for the longevity of the "X" versions.
     
  19. Morpheo macrumors 65816

    Morpheo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    Paris/Montreal
    #19
    At some point we'll have to pay for the "big" upgrade. Maybe 10.5, maybe 10.6, maybe Logic 11??? .... One thing for sure the more you wait the more it gets risky ;)

    No one knows when the next paying upgrade will come out, except Apple. If you need LPX now, don't think twice and buy it.
     
  20. swordio777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #20
    Thanks guys. You’ve really confirmed my own thoughts.

    It’s that word need that’s been the thorn in my side, though. I really don’t need logic at all - I only record music for my own enjoyment. That’s the whole reason I’ve managed to put it off this long - i was perfectly happy using LP9 on my old imac, but after upgrading to a new macbook pro (with high sierra installed out the box) that’s no longer an option.

    Think I’ll finally take the plunge in the next week or two. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
     
  21. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #21
  22. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #22
    Software upgrades for expensive software regularly cost $200. Look at Adobe stuff, Microsoft, AutoDesk, Steinberg Cubase, etc.

    $199 for what you get in Logic X is a steal, IMHO.
     

Share This Page

21 September 20, 2018