Logic Pro X Gets Massive Update With Smart Tempo, New Plug-Ins, and Hundreds of Loops

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jan 25, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today released a major 10.4 update for its professional audio editing software Logic Pro X, introducing a huge list of new features for musicians and sound editors.

    A new Smart Tempo system is designed to keep multiple tracks in sync regardless of their original tempo, allowing content to be combined together automatically. It lets users record into Logic Pro X using an attached instrument sans metronome or click track, with the software analyzing your performance to create a tempo map for the project.

    [​IMG]

    Several new plug-ins are included in Logic Pro X 10.4, including ChromaVerb, an algorithmic reverb with a colorful visual component, Step FX for rhythmic multi-effect processing, and Vintage EQ with three vintage analog EQ models from the 1950s to 1970s. A full list of all the new plug-ins is below:
    Two additional drummers with roots and jazz-influenced styles are included, and there are two new vintage brush kits for Drum Kit Designer. Apple has also added more than 800 new loops in a variety of instruments and genres, plus the New Visions library for Alchemy has gained 150 cinematic presets.

    Other new features include an undo option for mixer and plug-in actions, an option for saving favorites in the File Browser, support for looping audio files in the Loop Browser, and a new universal design for controlling articulations for a more consistent interface across Logic and third-party instruments.

    Today's Logic Pro X update is free for existing users. New users can download Logic Pro X from the Mac App Store for $199.99. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: Logic Pro X Gets Massive Update With Smart Tempo, New Plug-Ins, and Hundreds of Loops
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    Wow Apple. Keep bringing these “.1” releases! I’m really interested in the new Studio Strings and Studio Horns.
     
  3. kwikdeth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #3

    Wow so you really don't need any ability or skill at all any more? And we wonder why music is treated as a near-worthless commodity. :(
     
  4. star-affinity macrumors 6502a

    star-affinity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4
    Other new features include an undo option for mixer and plug-in actions

    Thanks for that! And the rest of the stuff. Especially curious about the Studio Strings and Studio Horns.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 25, 2018 ---
    I think it's fine to ”cheat” (or whatever you want to call it) when recording and creating your song/project as long as the result is good. :) I still think you need to have skills to make good stuff, it's just that some obstacles are more easy to overcome with modern tools. And the possibilities are endless.
     
  5. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #5
    While this comment may be true on a lot of features, this is not one of them, and quite the contrary. This allows you to play WITHOUT computer assistance to any tempo, including changes, and allow you to sync up loops or other instruments to the original recording. Thus, if you can't keep the tempo as you wanted it, this doesn't fix that, but rather amplifies it. This is great for singer/songwriter types who want to record in more natural, human ways but still have all of the benefits of recording in a DAW.
     
  6. johngordon macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #6
    Sure. Because anyone could pick up Logic Pro and be the new Ryan Tedder within a week.

    Good luck with that.
     
  7. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #7
    If it works as they say it does then that’s a lot of hours of Flex Time not needed. It won’t be amazing but it’ll help. Even the best musicians aren’t click perfect, in fact many aren’t robotic simply because they play with a lot of feel to really articulate but can lose the metronome, requiring lots of editing later.

    Audio recording takes a lot of time and patience, and if you’re quad tracking very difficult rhythms then it’s going to need some editing later, no matter how perfect you are. Or even if you’re doing solo work you may not use a metronome but you can lose a bit of timing in parts.

    This feature doesn’t mean that any incompetent Harry can slam out some gruesome off-beat feedback-ridden disaster and get a polished Opeth album after they’ve stopped recording. Remember, we’re not talking awful timing. Even a sixteenth of a bar that isn’t on point can sound much more off time when in a large mix.

    It just helps quantise and saves a bit of time. The editing will need to be done anyway, so why not take some of the pain away. I don’t see the problem.
     
  8. BigRed1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #8
    Lots of good stuff in this update. I'm excited to try it out.
     
  9. kwikdeth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #9
    You guys of course all assume the best case use scenario; let's all check in on the support forums in a few weeks and see how many "virtuosos" are complaining about it not fixing their terrible performances.
    Don't get me wrong, I see the potential here, and as somebody who has worked in a studio I see the time saving benefits. It's just what I see this mostly coming to is facilitating a lot of laziness.
     
  10. TheTruth101 Suspended

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    #10
    As everything else... too much music around, lose value.

    Back in late 80's early 90's I just to have an Atari ST computer who can hold only 2 midi songs. I used it in live shows. The same with a sampler and 2 keyboards, all midi. It was revolutionary.

    Today you have more technology in an iPhone 5 than the one used to record every single album until 2000 at least.
     
  11. Jesse Waugh Suspended

    Jesse Waugh

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Location:
    New York City
    #11
    I actually would love even more extensive automation - like in Odesi. I hope they buy Odesi at some point and make a one-click pop song creator plug-in for Logic which makes a readymade song to write lyrics and melody for, and sing to. Why not?
     
  12. Steve01234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #12
    No fcp x xml import ? Still ???? I still have to use a $150 app to convert to aaf, then import to logic which is a one way trip. Bad
     
  13. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #13
    You seem to be contradicting yourself here. Initially you claimed that this is taking away the element of talent and now you’re agreeing that it won’t be beneficial for those who couldn’t really play in the first place.

    Tools are only as good as the people using them. Many people use the Internet for education or communication. Others use it solely for pornography. Ultimately that says less about the Internet and more about the person using it.

    Again, I don’t see why this is a bad thing. A tool is there to make your work easier and saves you time. If this feature achieves that, then good. It won’t create talent where there isn’t any.
     
  14. sconnor99 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    #14
    What??? It's there in the import menu, has been for a while!!
     
  15. OS X Dude macrumors 6502a

    OS X Dude

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    Mellotron as a stand-alone instrument - nice! Interested to see the difference between ChromaVerb and Space Designer (and the new interface for that). I mainly only use it for loading IRs so I wonder if they’ve altered that process?

    Step FX could have some interesting creative applications as well. Couldn’t really care about Smart Tempo, I’d sooner create my own tempo map. Easier native export of tempo maps (for cross-DAW use) would be nice to see.
     
  16. miniroll32 macrumors 65816

    miniroll32

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #16
    Logic Pro is being supported really well in recent years. Keep it up, Apple!
     
  17. AppleInLVX macrumors 65816

    AppleInLVX

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    #17
    As my current roster of recorded music using Logic clearly proves, technology is not a substitute for talent. Probably never will be.
     
  18. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #18
    I really wish Apple kept developing Aperture. I still don't understand why they kept Final Cut Pro and Logic and not Aperture.
     
  19. GeneralChang macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #19
    Because the only skill really needed to create music is the ability to follow a metronome... ;)
     
  20. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #20
    This couldn't work on El Capitan why?

    Garbage.
     
  21. jayducharme, Jan 25, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018

    jayducharme macrumors 68040

    jayducharme

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    The thick of it
    #21
    While I'm impressed with most of the update, my most requested feature has actually gotten dumbed down. The end-of-project marker is a pain to work with. (And I've sent a lot of feedback to Apple about it.) There's really no end-of-project; every time a new piece of audio is added, the marker jumps down the timeline. There's no way to lock it in place (which is important for a lot of the work I do). You used to be able to go to the custom view of the transport bar and key in the beat number, but now Apple has removed that ability.

    EDIT: I found it. You have to right-click on the transport bar and go to settings. There's a check-box under "Custom" for setting the end marker (though it still doesn't stay in place).
     
  22. Black Tiger macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #22
    Good question. Photos is definitely not a replacement but I notice that, over time, they keep adding in features. While it doesn’t help now, it could have the functionality of Aperture in the future.
     
  23. kanselmo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #23
    Guessing you are not a musician who records and performs. Recording music is a wildly different skill than playing live music. Fact of the matter is, unless you only listen to recordings of live sets (and even then, most outside of jazz and classical will have overdubs), there has been some form of "studio magic" on literally every song you've ever liked. If you're that worried about the artist's musical pedigree and integrity, you have to see them perform live, and that has always been the case.
     
  24. R3k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #24
    Im exited for this, but unfortunately my Mac Pro completely locked up while closing the window for the Step FX plugin, and just now Logic crashed to the desktop while doing a Save As. This last one is unacceptable for me, im going to wait for 4.1.
     
  25. petsounds macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #25
    Fantastic update. The Smart Tempo feature sounds like a real time saver, and I'm interested in checking out some of the new effects like Step FX. Hopefully some of the old plugins have gotten a UI makeover also.

    But MacRumors, why isn't this on the front page when even the tiniest bit of iOS news gets put there? This is a huge update to one of Apple's pro products, this is worthy of front page treatment.
     

Share This Page