Logic X on 12" rMB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by DustinGinn, Mar 9, 2015.

1. DustinGinn, Mar 9, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2015

DustinGinn macrumors newbie

Hi there,

I'm a working musician and am frequently traveling and so portability is a big deal to me...however...so is power because I need to use heavy music apps like Logic, Reason, Ableton, etc. Also, I'm currently running a 2009 MBP and REALLY would like to move to a retina screen. Do you guys think the new 12" rMB will run those apps well? Or will I need to the power of the 13" rMBP?

Thanks for your thoughts/opinions!

2. ygys macrumors member

go for the rMBP

I think that the new retina macbook is more netbook than anything else ;)

3. east85 macrumors 65816

east85

I somehow doubt a CoreM will be able to run anything "heavy". For the same price you can get a better bang for your buck with the rMBP and know for sure that it is completely capable of running what you require. It also has a retina display.

4. fisherking macrumors 603

fisherking

my concern is the processor, and the ports (or lack thereof). i'd need a usb hub, going into the usb-c dongle (ie for a keyboard, and an audio interface). and not sure that processor would do it. am running an i5 now, and it's a struggle. i thing the 13" rmbp (the new one) is the way to go. an i7, 16GB ram...and actual ports.

too bad tho, this thing looks beautiful...

5. aquilc macrumors member

I doubt that the new Intel Core M Chips can run heave apps like Logic X and Photoshop.

These chips were designed for more portability and less power consumption.

Although it might handle large files (including loading apps) with ease due to the fact that the 12" rmB will have an SSD and 8GB RAM, it might suffer from processing performance, because of the Core M limitations.

6. aquilc macrumors member