LogMeIn and the new iPad, Amazing

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ugp, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. ugp macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #1
    This is quite amazing. I can now display my entire desktop and have it readable on my iPad from my 27" iMac. The quality on the screen is much better than the actual screenshot. No more zooming in and out all the time.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. icydog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Wow. That's really cool!
     
  3. bjmach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #3
    Oh man that looks good. I'm considering getting the app
     
  4. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #4
    Oooh awesome I have yet to load this up. I'll try it now!!
     
  5. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #5
    It's very useful. I've used LogMeIn for years and the Free version at that. Back before they supported all the extras for Mac. I paid $30 for the App back in the day when they first released it.
     
  6. bjmach macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    #6
    Well I'm deploying to middle east in June. Will be a great way to control stuff on my Mac when I'm gone
     
  7. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #7
    So after using a Virtual Desktop app like LMI my PC desktop won't be squished to 1024x768 res when I use it standalone? That would be awesome. :cool:
     
  8. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #8
    This is what is looked like an my iPad 2. Ignore Facebook, the wife was on my computer at the time.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #9
    You don't have to match the screen resolution to the iPad. I always left it at the actual size when using and zoomed in. I hated it when it would resize all my windows to fit the small res.
     
  10. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #10
    Thanks! That was my biggest gripe.
     
  11. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #11
    Wow! I just tried it on my 2560x1600 Dell monitor. Just WOW!
     

    Attached Files:

  12. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #12
    Do yourself a favor and ditch norton... Worst av ever. If you want the best look to Eset NOD32. FYI my job is maintaining some 1000+ computers.

    Sorry for the O/T - and yes, logmein is awesome :)
     
  13. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #13
    LOL ditch Windows and never worry about Anti-Virus. To each their own. On my work PC I use Avast. Norton is system resource hungry.
     
  14. jeepik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #14
    WOW just tried it and its awesome for sure, 27 inch imac screen i can read everything thats open on a browser windows
     
  15. Patriot24 macrumors 68030

    Patriot24

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Location:
    California
    #15
    LogMeIn has long been one of the better apps. The retina display makes it much more usable for sure.
     
  16. gillybean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #16
    Have you tried playing video? Is it especially laggy because now it needs to transmit so many more pixels?
     
  17. DS3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    #17
    When I check Log Me In on the app store I don't see anything about a retina update?

    I might have to try it, I use Splashtop and I'm waiting on that to get retina support.
     
  18. SteveAbootman macrumors 6502a

    SteveAbootman

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #18
    While not Logmein, I tried this with Splashtop Remote -- my 24in iMac (1920x1200) had black borders all around the iPad screen when viewing in native res.... that's just absurd.
     
  19. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #19
    LMI s not made for video playback. That wild be dependent on your Internet connection anyway. There are Apps designed for that to your iPad that wild be better. AirVideo would be one.

    ----------

    There isn't yet. If you look at the buttons in my picture they are very pixelated. But the action res works.

    ----------

    I have Spalshtop as well and will give it a try and see what happens.
     
  20. Yggbert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #20
    Not until OS X and/or Mac hardware become more gaming friendly. e.g. performance doesn't suck compared to Windows, and hardware can be upgraded manually. (so never)

    Haven't had a virus on Windows since like 2003 anyway.
     
  21. lilo777 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #21
    You forgot one little thing - iPad's screen is little. Nothing prevents even 1" screen to have such high resolution but it does not mean that you'll be able to see anything on such screen without a magnifying glass.
     
  22. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #23
    It's still much better than previous iPads is the point. For working on a small screen it works very well.

    ----------

    The performance in the hardware is there. It comes down to development in Software. Valve has taken a step there but still has a long ways to go. It's a shame too.
     
  23. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #24
    Did you even read my post? I'll clue you in on something, most of the corporate world uses windows. But yes, all home users should use OS X. I use Eset for my macs as well :)
     
  24. ugp thread starter macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #25
    I know. I got that. I was poking fun. At work I'm on a Windows machine as well. They are cheap.
     

Share This Page