Long term costs of iMac vs. Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Undo, Feb 22, 2010.

1. Undo macrumors member

I’ve decided to make the switch from a PC to a Mac. But I’m struggling between an iMac and a Mac Pro. I know my work doesn’t really warrant a Mac Pro. But I’m willing to go extra for the best system (for now).

I’m an Adobe CS2 user (will be upgrading to CS5). Video, music, and photo editing, motion graphics, and DVD authoring are hobbies, and I do a little web design as an indie contractor.

My question is, on average, how often do Mac Pro users actually upgrade their existing system (with RAM, HD, or CPU) before they upgrade to an entirely new system (tower, MB and all)? In the long run, does upgrading to the latest components for a Mac Pro cost as much, more, or less as upgrading to the latest iMac? I realize these are relative issues, but I’m hoping to glean a little objectivity from your advice.

I’m pretty new to the Mac world. So I’m sure my ignorance is showing. And I apologize if these questions have already been answered elsewhere. (I found a similar question in regard to MacBook, but not the Mac Pro.) Thanks.

2. akm3 macrumors 68020

One of the absolute, hardest things for me to get over while switching to Mac was "but...but...but...I'll have to throw the monitor away when I upgrade!"

As a self builder of my own windows systems, I was constantly upgrading, swapping out parts, etc, etc.

Mac Pro's are amazing machines, but truly, the iMac is the better choice for most people. It will last you for years, and can be repurposed in ways that 'junky old PC's' can't be.

Save yourself the money, buy the iMac, and you'll be very happy. I don't think you'll regret not getting the Mac Pro.

This is all 'in my humble opinion'.

3. Icaras macrumors 603

Icaras