Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Finn Baingo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 15, 2020
Hi, im new in the mac world so i need some advice in buying a mac mini, i found one fore little money, the only problem i found Is that the model is not going to get new software updates.
I’m using an iPad Pro 2020, an iphone XS and an Apple Watch.
I’m looking for a Mac to save pictures and backups, and do some research. So i don’t need the best chip and stuff.
please send me your advise
(the one i saw was a 2011 Mac mini with i5, 256gb ssd and 8 gb ram... i would plug in my 4TB hard disk to improve the data space)

Boyd01

Staff member
Feb 21, 2012
New Jersey Pine Barrens
I'd avoid the 2011 Mini, if for no other reason than because it does not have USB 3. That will make your external disk run at about 30MB/sec which is horrible. The 2012 Mini is much better and in fact, if you can find one of the quad-core models, they are faster than any of the 2014 Mini's (they dropped the quad models in 2014). Of course, the 2012 Mini's are also going to stop getting updates soon. I have a 2012 quad and used it for things like Final Cut Pro and Logic Pro for a number of years. The USB 3 ports allow it to boot from an external SSD and still perform very well.

The upper 2014 models are OK, I use a 2.8ghz/8gb 2014 Mini as a media server and it's fine for that. Avoid the base model 1.4ghz/4gb model. I also have one of these and it's ok as a server but almost unusable for anything else. The memory cannot be upgraded on the 2014 Mini but the 2012 Mini was designed with user-upgradeable RAM.