Looking to get my first Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RNGesus, Feb 19, 2018.

1. RNGesus macrumors newbie

Hi all, noob here, and noob to Mac land as well. I currently have a 4 year old Lenovo Yoga 2 I think, that looks like it might be on it's way out. Battery isn't lasting like it used to. Also the screen will randomly repeatedly flicker until you close the shell and then re-open it.

As of right now, not really a power user so it was fine for just general web browsing and other light use. However I did want to start to diversify my skill set and start getting more into tech and start getting into things like web development and video editing.

I've hated windows ever since 8, so I'm looking to make the jump to Mac. Also, this stupid thing updates all the time. I just really don't like what Windows is currently doing.

Anyway started doing research and decided to look at the 15 inch with the 4gig graphics card. Figure might as well get more power than I need so that way it will last a few years. I've had terrible luck with laptops, I've had 3 Dells that only made it 2 years each, and this Lenovo looking like its way out but after 4 years. Ideally I want something that will last me 4-5 years. Also, I just like things to work. I'm not the kind of person who wants to be doing my own repairs and tinkering with things. So that's led me here.

My only concern, is to be one of those guys, is it looks like another model will come out in the next few months. I'm going to be on vacation next week (26th-march 6th) and was hoping to pick one up at Best Buy with the $200 off they have been having. So of course my question is buy now or wait? Or just any tips for new buyers in general.

Also one other thing, I actually mostly use my laptop on my lap. Don't have an actual desk top. Usually just hang out with my laptop on my lap on my couch at home, so hopefully this will be relatively comfortable for such use.

2. smallcoffee macrumors 65816