looking to upgrade my 2009 27inch imac ssd/cpu

Discussion in 'iMac' started by philipma1957, Oct 30, 2011.

  1. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #1
    okay i have the base 2009 model with a c2d 3.06 cpu and a 1tb seagate. also the better gpu. I would leave the gpu alone but I want to drop this cpu into it.



    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Core-...623?pt=CPUs&hash=item589074050f#ht_3445wt_907


    It will work, but Is a guide available? I also want to put this ssd into it.


    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-470...064?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item43aa39e268



    I can mount it correctly, but will it work?


    would like to know if anyone has used this model in a 2009 iMac.


    I have the ssd in hand so it is the upgrade that I am really going to do . THE cpu is more of a might as well.
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    The SSD is fine, but I'm less certain that the C2D iMacs are socketed. If they are, then that CPU swap shouldn't be too tough, although I don't think it would really be worth the money and effort.
     
  3. tears2040 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #3

    Sell your computer and buy a new base Model iMac. You can at least get about $500 for it. All you need is another $500 and your good. It's not about clock speed as the newer iMac's are quad core processors which is so much more faster that you going through that craziness your thinking of doing.
     
  4. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    i may do this
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    Plus less hassle and you know the new machine will work. Unless you really know what you are doing it's easy to fry the machine changing the cpu, or damage the pins of the new cpu.
     
  6. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #7
    yeah I did an upgrade to a 2010 mac pro but it is far easier then this. I saw my model on ebay at 800 plus in an auction if i can get 800 it would really be the way to go.
     
  7. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #8
    thank you I sold the machine on ebay for a good price.
     

Share This Page