Looks like you're going to have to pay for facetime on 3G

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by walie, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    It's a no brainer really...Carriers were always going to charge...Personally I wouldn't use FT over 3G anyway unless it was a case of dire emergency...I've no doubt that O2 here in the UK will be announcing one of their bolt-ons as soon as IOS6 hits iTunes.
     
  3. walie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
  5. brylliant macrumors regular

    brylliant

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Working perfectly fine for me in the UK over 3G.
    No messages like that at all. I'm running the latest version of iOS 6, beta 3 and I have an unlimited plan which is good for this kind of thing =P
     
  6. throys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I my only wish is that O2 uk will increase thier data plans.
     
  7. MrBudgie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    #9
    I wouldn't hold your breath for that one...I was with them for the last 4/5 years, had an unlimited data thing then they scrapped it about 2 years ago (just after a new 24 month contract started - bloody typical!) and set the 500mb limit. Needless to say I jumped ship at the earliest chance - signed up with Three a few weeks ago and got the 4s, unlimited data (really unlimited: no fair usage policy, no throttling, tethering included). Haven't had a single problem so far and the coverage is top rate. Also seem to average about 7mb/s over 3G most of the time, so it's fast as well as unlimited.

    I really hope they don't start charging for FaceTime. I can't see me using it loads over 3G, but it would be nice to have the option and not have to worry about being charged for it seeing as its essentially data anyways.
     
  8. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    My guess is it will be included with the current 5GB plan that allows tethering or the new shared data plans (that also include tethering), but will be blocked on everything else (Unlimited data, 2GB, 3GB plans etc).
     
  9. aarmstrong27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    #11
    This is right on the mark. I worked for the Deathstar for 7 years and I do not see them "charging" for it. It will just be part of the "tethering" plan and that plan will be required to use it.
     
  10. Dviper27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #12
    Doesn't surprise me

    Doesn't surprise me... You would end up running up your data plan anyways and pay for it that way.
     
  11. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    Well you can't really say anymore that this feature will prevent people from jailbreaking...
     
  12. rorschach macrumors 68020

    rorschach

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    #14
    That's why it makes absolutely no sense.

    If you have 2GB or 4GB or whatever limited amount of data, what does it matter how you use that data? You're getting charged twice for the same data. Three times if you have the tethering plan.
     
  13. thewitt macrumors 68020

    thewitt

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    #15
    The reason they care about how you use your data plan has to do with load management.

    Your 5G data plan is expected to be used at predictable intervals over the course of the month, not in one or two mass data transactions.

    Though you might not like it, that's the justification for restricting tethering and face time.

    Yes it's your data, however they need to figure out how to make everyone's performance acceptable while maintaining a cost effective network.
     
  14. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #16
    Don't see it myself. O2 have no extra data bolt on's for specific iPhone/iPad features in the UK. I made FaceTime calls over 3G on beta 3 without any problem on O2 as well.

    Americans really do get ripped off by their carriers.
     
  15. throys macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #17
    I can't see why they would charge for it x fingers. Not much people do really use FaceTime in the UK and iny use it at home when I have wifi as it gives better quality.
    Regarding data unlimited minutes and text ad 1gb data from O2 for £26 a month is not shabby but I'm willing to pay another £5 for more data not just 2gb which they offer me but at least 3gb - unlimited.
     
  16. WeegieMac Guest

    WeegieMac

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #18
    Pretty much the same as myself. I use FaceTime maybe once or twice every fortnight to speak to family members. When I do however, I'm at home and on WiFi. I've never found myself in a situation where I found myself wishing I could FaceTime while out and about.

    I pay O2 £36pm on their new On & On tariff, which gives me Unlimited UK minutes (all networks and landlines excluding 0870 and 0845), Unlimited UK texts (all networks), and 1GB of 3G use.

    Can't complain.
     
  17. CrAkD macrumors 68040

    CrAkD

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #19
    I don't understand how they can charge for tethering or facetime when all the carriers went to great lengths to switch from an unlimited data model to a tiered model. especially now when they are all announcing "shared" plans. now more then ever they are pushing its your data use it how you use it but if you go over we will charge you. they are even including tethering in the new shared plans.....I can see them charging or not offering it to unlimited users (which they throttle anyway so who cares) but i cant see someone on a tiered or shared plan getting an extra charge for this.
     
  18. WordMasterRice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #20
    That is a good reason to sell customers but that isn't exactly what's happening. If I were to activate tethering and facetime on my account they wouldn't be beefing up my local tower, or assigning any extra resources to me at all, just more money in the pool. All the while I could very easily rack up similar data usage on at least half of my other apps which have no charge.

    If they wanted to charge for specific services like this they should have kept unlimited data available, but they went with a teared approach. Time to live up to the agreement.
     
  19. jeremiah239 macrumors 6502a

    jeremiah239

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    239 Area, FL
  20. dewthedru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    #22
    Because...the iPhone on Sprint is so slow you don't have to worry about using FaceTime on their network?
     
  21. jeremiah239 macrumors 6502a

    jeremiah239

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Location:
    239 Area, FL
    #23
    I live in FL and I have had Sprint for almost 12 years service and 3g speeds are great where I live and in most places I have better service then my friends with iPhones on At&t and Verizon. Now I understand Sprint isn't great every where, I went to PA to visit family and I had crap service there. But for the most part I enjoy Sprint, They have cheaper better plans the the other two, also unlimited data.

    Also FaceTime on 3G works very well on Sprint, I have used it quite a bit since the beta came out.
     
  22. profets macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #24
    yup, if you give them the ability then they definitely will.

    I really don't understand why apple is going this route. Going to hurt the adoption of it if it becomes a pay service. Imagine if apple allowed the carriers to charge/control iMessage at last years ios5 launch?
     

Share This Page