Lost hard drive space

Discussion in 'iMac' started by krstone, Mar 28, 2017.

  1. krstone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #1
    I have a 1TB Fusion drive iMac that lost 500GB. I was using Disk Utility to re-partition and it froze. After a forced restart there is only one disk with 500GB. Any help appreciated.

    Ken
     
  2. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #2
    For starters, Terminal: "diskutil list" - give us the output

    Other steps may need to be taken first, but I think this will be solved with diskutil cs resize "ID" 100% from Recovery Mode
     
  3. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #3
    See below.
    Thanks
    Ken



    Last login: Tue Mar 28 14:33:28 on console

    tests-iMac:~ test$ diskutil list

    /dev/disk0 (internal):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme 24.0 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 314.6 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_CoreStorage Macintosh HD 23.6 GB disk0s2

    3: Apple_Boot Boot OS X 134.2 MB disk0s3


    /dev/disk1 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk1

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1

    2: Apple_CoreStorage Macintosh HD 487.8 GB disk1s2

    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 512.0 GB disk1s3


    /dev/disk2 (internal, virtual):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: Apple_HFS Macintosh HD +510.5 GB disk2

    Logical Volume on disk0s2, disk1s2

    719F1A46-A84B-4FC0-843D-EE6966921A52

    Unencrypted Fusion Drive


    tests-iMac:~ test$
     
  4. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #4

    Looks like this should indeed work

    Boot into the recovery partition
    Open a Terminal window
    Run:"diskutil cs resizeVolume (Logical Volume Identifier of your drive here) 100%"
    It should return to normal. You may need to run "resizeStack" instead of resizeVolume first.
     
  5. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #5
    Hmm. For some reason my recovery partition is missing. Doesn't show on restart with option key pressed.
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
  7. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #7
    OK. Got to recovery.

    The terminal command gives error message: A percentage value (100%) cannot be specified for this operation

    Tried both resizeVolume and resizeStack
     
  8. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #8
    Tell us what you were re-partioning?

    If it was a BootCamp partition for instance, you have killed things. BootCamp partitions need to be removed by the BootCamp Assistant only. Using DU can fatally wound the set up.

    If this is what you were doing, an erase and install is in your future! You do have a backup?
     
  9. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #9
    Hm. Are you on an old version of OS X? It used to be that you could only specify an exact value, but I was rather sure they'd changed it os you could specify percentages. Anyway, exactly the same commands, just with the exact, total(!) capacity of the drive instead of 100%. So for instance 1024G (1TiB)
     
  10. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #10
    Using 1024G, now getting message: There is not enough free space in the Core Storage Logical Volume Group for this operation.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 28, 2017 ---
    Not a boot camp partition. I am OK doing a full erase if I can recover the full 1TB.
     
  11. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #11
    That is where resizeStack should fix the problem - what does it report?
     
  12. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #12
    With that command in terminal, I get this: "There is not enough free space in the Core Storage Logical Volume Group for this operation."
    --- Post Merged, Mar 28, 2017 ---
    Doing a search I found the thread below. It seems to suggest that I have to resize the core storage volume but the suggestions did not help me.

    http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/154964/resizing-or-expanding-a-corestorage-volume
     
  13. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #13
    This is kinda what I've been trying to do...
    Oh well, you said you don't mind losing your data, right? In that case, I have something that'll almost certainly solve the issue. It'll rip the fusion drive apart, and re-fuse the SSD and HDD. Wanna go that route?

    diskutil coreStorage delete lvgUUID
    (Replace lvgUUID with the logical volume group ID of your Core Storage stack)


    Recovery Partition:
    Splitting up a Fusion Drive eliminates the recovery partition, so make sure you have access to the Internet in order to download the latest version of Mountain Lion onto your machine. The late 2012 Macs that shipped with Fusion Drives require a special version of Mountain Lion not yet available anywhere but by Internet Recovery.

    After this is done, Disk Utility in Recovery mode will show the drive in red text, asking to make a new Fusion Drive out of it.
    (If this for some reason fails, follow these steps:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/guide-diy-fusion-drive-guide.1530110/
    )
     
  14. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #14
    Yes, no concern about data loss. Just to make sure, I just run the delete command in terminal and then go to DU and say yes to make new fusion drive? (all in recovery mode). correct?
     
  15. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #15
    Essentially yes. Stay in recovery mode, run the delete command (remember to use the logical volume group ID from your specific drive), go to Disk Utility, select the drive and if nothing pops up on its own, see if the erase, partition or repair buttons prompt Fusion Drive creation - if not follow the guide I linked to. But that'll rip the Fusion Drive apart into two parts, SSD and HDD, and then recreate it again.
     
  16. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #16
    Almost there....

    I got my hard drive back to 1TB with a fresh install of OS 10.12.

    However, my HD and SSD are split. How can I recreate fusion drive?

    thanks
    Ken
    --- Post Merged, Mar 28, 2017 ---
    Disk utility shows the two drives but nothing in red and wasn't asked to fix.
     
  17. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #17
    All is well. I found terminal commands to recreate the Fusion drive.
     
  18. krstone thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    #18
    Apparently the ability of Disk Utility to fix a broken Fusion drive went away with Yosemite. I can't confirm but was told that.
     
  19. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #19

    From the Recovery screen it should still be there - from within the OS it is meant to not be possible. But regardless, glad you've got it working
     
  20. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #20
    I do think that went away with Yosemite. You can see it in my old post #8 here, but now it no longer works in Internet recovery. You need to run through the Terminal routine in my post #14 in that same thread.
     
  21. casperes1996 macrumors 65816

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #21
    Hm. I stand corrected. Wonder why that was changed - I mean, In the first place, people who un-fuse their drives probably are capable of fusing them back together via the Terminal, but still, if somehow it happened by accident, for the less tech savvy, I thought it nice that Disk Utility in Recovery Mode could recognise that the drive used to be a Fusion. Oh well
     
  22. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #22
    Dunno... but I agree with you it makes no sense. Sure easier for DU to popup and fix it for you than to mess around in Terminal.
     

Share This Page