Love the dictation feature!

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Indigovalley, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. Indigovalley macrumors member

    Indigovalley

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    #1
    If you haven't played with the dictation feature yet it's a blast. You can just speak the name of a website and it will find it for you. In Keynote you can dictate all your text--same on pages.

    As a teacher the dictation feature will allow me to make Keynote presentations much faster as I am slow at typing on the iPad. It's lots of fun and has applications for students with typing/writing issues as well.

    Only wish they had included SIRI with it--I really could have used that day to day as well...
     
  2. MykullMyerz macrumors 6502

    MykullMyerz

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #2
    I've only used it a handful of times so far and the results, at least with my experience, have left much to be desired. I hope it improves in the future. However, it could just be my voice.
     
  3. nfl46 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I've never used it. I'll turn it on later to try it.
     
  4. Indigovalley thread starter macrumors member

    Indigovalley

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    #4
    When I have used it the feature has been pretty accurate with an occasional error. I make a point to speak clearly and distinctly. I'm sure some voices might work better than others. The surrounding room noise may make a difference also.
     
  5. taedouni macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I have not used dictation as much as I would have liked to, but when I did I was fairly impressed.
     
  6. rdiz17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    #6
    I keep forgetting the mic is on the top, so I talk to the bottom like I would with my phone. Once I started speaking at the mic it works like a charm.
     
  7. ZhenyaF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #7
    Works really well, even better then Siri on my 4S
     
  8. Aqua Bliss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #8
    When I go to the website bar to type in a URL, I do not see that dictation button showing at that time. Does anyone else have this problem?
     
  9. laurenr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #9
    My dictation feature does not understand my South African accent at all.:(
     
  10. Travisimo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    #10
    You're right, it does not show up in the address bar. However, it does show up in the Google search bar next to it.
     
  11. epi117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    #11
    Been using the iPad to check my work email just so I can dictate a response working so great
     
  12. stephg macrumors member

    stephg

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    #12
    Okay, stupid question, but how do I activate or make this work?
     
  13. kds786 macrumors regular

    kds786

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Tennessee
    #13
    I'm loving mine, too! I've updated Facebook, sent an email, searched the Internet, and I'm dictating this entry!
     
  14. cadillac1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #14
    Nobody understands the South African accent :D
     
  15. stephg macrumors member

    stephg

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    #15
    Okay, never mind, I figured it out myself. I actually read the manual, and I am using dictation to type this. I don't know how often I would use this, but it's pretty cool to play with.
     
  16. laurenr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Tell me about it! I married a Yankee, moved to California, and people look at me like I'm speaking a foreign language! The accent is similar to a British one, so one would think it would be crystal clear...........not!:p In a different thread here, when I tested it, I got some hilarious results, for eg, it interpreted "at all" as "*******". :mad: Sheesh!
     
  17. RickG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    #17
    dictation so far has worked pretty well- the camera's really disapointing, I read somewhere that the camera's are two year old components and that is disapointing- the camera quality in this ipad 3 is not acceptable in my opinion-apple's supposed to be the audio visual guru but I will guess the next one will see a big improvement !!!
     
  18. number84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #18
    Go to settings and keyboard you'll see the option there to turn it on.
     
  19. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #19
    I was pleasantly surprised at how well it did work in the brief time I have used it. Bonus feature!
     
  20. borka105 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    #20
    How do you go to the next line?

    Do you know other such commands?
     
  21. mbell1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #21
    I have had this feature on my Android phones for years. Glad they finally put it on the iPad.
     
  22. Actual Size macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Location:
    Denver
    #22
    Someone said you say: "New Line" & "New Paragraph"
     
  23. astral125 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #23
    I am trying it now.
    This works.
     
  24. JonMPLS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #25
    can anyone figure out how to capitalize the first word of the first sentence?
    Subsequenct lines are capitalized automatically.
    I tried saying "cap" before the first word but that seems to only work when you're in a sentence.
     

Share This Page