Low FPS in WoW?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by I'mAMac, May 23, 2011.

  1. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #1
    Anyone else get low framerates in wow? Even not in crowded cities im getting around 20 fps. Everything is set to Good or lower except Texture which is on High. Water, shadows, and sunshafts are all low. Anything I can do to improve framerates? Besides boot into win7 :eek:
     
  2. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #2
    Try lowering view distance. You can also turn off shadows and turn textures down a notch to medium and see if that helps.
     
  3. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #3
    I have the same computer and gets more than twice your framerate.
    Do you have multisampling on, or loads of addons?
     
  4. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #4
    With the latest patch, I was getting 20 fps (I normally get between 80 and 120 in org) until I disabled my addons. I then checked my addons one at a time until I found the addons that were causing the fps issues.
     
  5. QuantumLo0p macrumors 6502a

    QuantumLo0p

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #5
    About the only things I keep turned up a little are distances are set to good and particle density as well. Too low particle density and you will not be able to see effects to avoid in dungeons and raids. I keep sun shafts and water effects off totally; they are hogs as well. Pretty much everything else is set to low. It would be nice to have everything set to ultra but with WoW's cartoonish graphics it really won't look stellar to me anyways.

    Btw, I cap my fps to 30 and hardly ever experience lag. There is one 5-man instance boss effect that causes me a little momentary lag but I have yet to experience any lag in the only two 10-mans I've done, Boradin Hold and Black Wing Descent.
     
  6. I'mAMac thread starter macrumors 6502a

    I'mAMac

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    In a Mac box
    #6
    My multisampling is only at 1x but I do have a good amount of addons. I'll try disabling them as another poster suggested and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page